Poets logo

Childhood Wishes

An early Mother's Day poem for my mama.

By Sandra MatosPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
5
My Mama who died when I was 3 yrs. old

Once again, at this time of year,

I find myself wishing you were here,

and I feel like

a whiny child.

I'm missing me, and I'm missing you,

each one was taken much too soon

and I'd like to

wallow for a while.

This happens to me every year,

where I'm so small, and you're still here

and I do

all the things I should

I paint my handprint on a card,

create a macaroni heart.

I write to you a silly poem

that lets you know you are my home

and sometimes

I want to be a kid again

But she went away,

when you couldn't stay

I miss the you I never knew.

I miss the me I couldn't be

I don't know what it's all about

Why I can't throw these feelings out.

Maybe next year.

If you could hear, then I would say

That I figured out how to be okay

And mostly

I feel so strong

So I take the love that I think you'd give

and I use it in every way I live;

that's how

I learned to get along.

There are so many women just like me

missing this one important link

Dreaming of life if she could've stayed

And maybe

someday, they'll be ok

Just on another day...

Family
5

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming17 days ago

    Sandra, this is just so mournful. I can feel the longing in it and the sadness. This is a wonderful way to honour your mum.

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Oh no! I am emotional! If I could be with you to erase your misery!😢

  • This made me so emotional. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Sandra, this was heartbreakingly beautiful. I can't imagine losing my mum so young. Significant birthdays and anniversaries must be so hard. Wishing you all the very best. Just take care and go easy on yourself.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    Mothering ourselves is one of those things that doesn't get spoken aloud. You did it so beautifully. {{huggs}} from another motherless daughter

  • Donna Renee2 months ago

    This poem, and your bio paragraph together just hit me hard. Sending you ❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.