Poets logo

CHERUBS are JUST BABIES

(...and so am I sometimes.)

By Hannah LoganPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
CHERUBS are JUST BABIES
Photo by Boston Public Library on Unsplash

(This story is 100% true.*)

*****************

I meant to change the world today.

Got up before dawn.

Meditated.

Got my To Do List together.

But then...

I had a memory of yesterday.

Which I'd been clearly told

to not revisit.

But I forgot.

This made me feel…

very heavy.

Quite sad, really.

I tried imagining

I was riding in a chariot...

or wearing a cape...

to give me

the get up and go get'm I needed...

but I couldn't find it.

So, I meditated again...

but that time I saw cherubs...

which are really just babies with wings.

I mean, aren't they?

Little vulnerable babies.

And I started crying, because I realized how tired I was...

like a fat little cherub

exhausted from doin' stuff for God.

A baby…

but without any wings.

Just the baby.

A tired-ass, worn-out 

wingless baby...

crying too hard 

to even see her To Do List.

So, I went back to bed...

and turned the light out.

Cuz babies sleep when they're tired.

I'm sure my wings are around here somewhere.

I'll find them after I've rested...

maybe had a snack.

Then I'll change the world.

But right now...

This bed is Heaven.

*************

… *except for seeing cherubs, which should technically be called cherubim, but that's just not as funny.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Hannah Logan

Act/Pen/Direct/Produce

Truth-Teller * Believer in Magic * Laughter-Lover

My hope...

to make art

that matters, moves, (a)muses

unlocks The Mystery

leaves good in my wake

so others

might do the same.

www.thetruthfulcreative.com

Insta @mshannahlogan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.