Poets logo

Cacoethes

Forsaking who we are, blending in goes too far

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 8 months ago β€’ Updated 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
162
Photo by Hebert Santos on Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/calm-young-woman-looking-at-camera-through-broken-window-3806583/

I want to sew my eyes shut

Don't want to see things

That would break my heart

~~~~~

I want to sew my eyes shut

Don't want the tears to flow

When something breaks my heart

~~~~~

I want to sew my ears shut

Don't want to hear things

That would break my heart

~~~~~

I want to sew my heart shut

Don't want to feel intense emotions

When something breaks my heart

~~~~~

I want to rip my heart and soul out

Don't want to feel anything

Impervious to things that break my heart

~~~~~

Why does my heart break

Overflows with empathy

When I see someone tristful

~~~~~

Why do I do everything I can

In my power to help them

Only for them to discard me after use

~~~~~

I fit in with everyone

A shapeshifting puzzle piece

A cheap knock-off

~~~~~

I'm their ladder to reach the top shelf

Their car to reach their destination

Their utensils to enjoy their food

~~~~~

I'm just a catalyst

Standing outside, always looking in

A cacoethes to belong

~~~~~

Definition from https://www.collinsdictionary.com

__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! πŸ₯° If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
162

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❀️ Erythrophile ❀️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
πŸ–€ Elegantly Disturbed Mind πŸ–€

Instagram 🀍 Facebook 🀍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (129)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writerabout a month ago

    A very emotive piece of writing. Leaves one to reflect for a while. My reflection: Heartache SUCKS!

  • MR.Marsh2 months ago

    WOW..

  • Bogdan S.2 months ago

    My favorite part: "I'm just a catalyst Standing outside, always looking in A cacoethes to belong" Great writing, heartfelt!

  • Annie Edwards 4 months ago

    This is so beautiful! One of my favorite pieces I’ve read!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Dear Creator of the year, I a humble writer wishes to express my heartfelt congratulations. Seeing your name highlighted for this award is such a great way to start the year, Looking forward to reading more of your works in 2024 Jason

  • Isabella Rose4 months ago

    I love this one. It speaks to the feelings of abandonment so well. Good job!

  • Test5 months ago

    I felt this one.

  • dark and relatable, I loveee it

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very dark, but very powerful at the same time. Good writing!

  • It's so dark but so honest and emotional like someone who just didn't get to say their peace for a while and then can't hold back anymore. Really like it thanks for sharing :)

  • Naomi Tyhurst6 months ago

    Putting emotion into words is one of the really challenging things to write- you did it magnificently

  • Mary Haynes6 months ago

    Very relatable. Excellent work.

  • E.K. Daniels6 months ago

    I love writing that makes me look up words… :-D

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    This poem hits hard today... It's so relatable for me and such a heartbreaker! But I find comfort in knowing that I'm not alone in these feelings!! The line about being a shapeshifting puzzle piece hit e real hard, that's such an ADHD thing to do... to be the people pleaser we were raised to be! Another great piece!

  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    Oh, this is wonderful, you are talented. Boundaries…this person’s tales scream for some boundaries. Keep up your beautiful writing. I love how you put definitions at the end.

  • Jasmine Aguilar7 months ago

    A deeply emotional read!

  • Gina C.7 months ago

    Aw, dear friend, this was so moving and relatable ...so much emotion in this. Your poems are always so deep and compelling. You have the gift of making the reader feel πŸ₯Ήβ€οΈ Sending hugs to you πŸ₯Ήβ€οΈβ€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Catherine Nyomenda7 months ago

    It's your subtitle for me. It made me curious to read your poem which no doubt I enjoyed. Great work Raj!

  • Marie Sinadjan8 months ago

    Oh my gosh, the emotion in this πŸ₯Ί I would love to turn this into a song sometime, just for fun, I'll link you when I get to play around with the piano again?

  • Maureen Y. Palmer8 months ago

    Good idea to include the definitions at the end! I always find it annoying when i have to go look up what words mean.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    DAMN, Dharr. I am completely heartbroken. I feel so much warmth in my heart for you right now, and I feel so sad that you may be feeling like this. You capture that feeling of being discarded so well; it's like you reached into my soul and took the feeling out, raw and crude, and put it on the page. Your two words, tristful and cacoethes, are new to me, and I think you used them perfectly here. Well done on this---wow.

  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Wow! Heartfelt!😒 Congratulations on the top story! πŸŽ‰Well-deserved!❀️

  • AL. K.8 months ago

    Very well done!

  • Well done, Dharrsheena! This is so very well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.