Poets logo

c u r r e n t

state of mind | inverse poem challenge

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
30
adobe stock

if i emerge on the other side of my edges

i *know* are available to me

vast oceans of growth and freedom

but I am awash in thoughts of

the churning darkness trying to envelop my mind

i will not allow myself to become englufed in

the little waves of happiness of this present moment

because i am submerged in

paralyzing thought patterns from my past

and

suffocating fear of the future

in my current state of mind

i cannot see

in order to save myself from the fluxing of the tide

that i must grasp the small streams of blessings that lead to rivers of gratitude

i am consumed by the notion

this deluge of suffering is my story to own but

i have been told that

if i can learn to float through the torrent

there is an abundance of truths to be found yet

i feel

i am powerless against this crushing mental tide

and i repudiate the idea that

there is strength in me to overcome these limiting beliefs

i am drowning in a sea of tumultuous thoughts

and i can't understand how

in this blinding darkness

light can be found

***************************************

now read from bottom to top

Stream of ConsciousnessMental Health
30

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm6 days ago

    Hey, I don’t even think I ended up trying this structure, but this is brilliant! Very soul affirming and such a cool inverse! I feel like I’m right there at the “if i can learn to float through the torrent” ! I hope that if you were feeling this you have slowly learnt to do so! I do hope you have been going well Kristen. Sorry I’ve been so out of touch. Had a bit of a vocal break early in year. . Last couple of months getting back into it slowly. I trust you are going well? Best wishes sent! ☺️💚🙏

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    This is incredible. I love the complete change of emotion. I teach a group of teen girls in my church and I would love to share this with them. It's a great illustration of how what you focus on can change your perspective.

  • Love this , great words

  • Anna Michelle2 months ago

    So sweet how you did this. Powerful!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Congratulations on TS!!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Meg2 months ago

    A powerful piece! Congrats on top story!

  • Lily Séjor2 months ago

    This was beautifully written and well executed. I really enjoyed spending time with your poem. 💛

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    I liked your writing, congratulations.

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I prefer from bottom up. A very good entry for the inverse challenge and as always so beautiful. I read different meanings in this. No words ever seem forced when you write. Congratulations

  • ema2 months ago

    I'm really impressed by the way you managed to write the same poem in reverse with two opposite meanings, well done!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Well done on this and congrats on a belated Top Story...lol 15 days late! Well done pal. Hope you're alright over there?

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is a great entry, my friend. I can definitely relate to thought flowing like water, and sometimes drowning in them. I especially love the positivity in the reverse version. Well done.

  • This is a very special piece. I love how hopeless it is from top to bottom but how resilient and hopeful it is the other way. Absolutely great job!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    👏👏👏 A stream of greatness! Two of them in fact. This is a strong contender, my friend. Loved every bit of it! 💖

  • Oooo, I learned a new word today, repudiate! Also, your poem was a freaking powerful masterpiece! It reads so well forwards and in reverse!

  • The difference between those of us who look up & those who look down.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Whatever this concept is trying to tell you, I'm glad you're going with the flow. A great read in both directions, my friend!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    ooh I do like the inverse , it was a different feel. Both ways flow beautifully yet I like the reverse.

  • I don’t know why the ocean/river water concept keeps calling to me, but I’m honoring it by sitting with the lessons it has to teach. It’s trying to tell me something…

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.