Poets logo

Buoy, Uninterrupted

A haiku inspired by a small round red buoy on Hollingworth Lake, Greater Manchester.

By Caroline JanePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
15
Photograph by Author taken at Hollingworth Lake.

Amaranthine Buoy,

apricity soaks. Long... gold...

kisses of winter.

***

nature poetry
15

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 4 months ago

    Such a peaceful scene, thank you! ☺️

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    I love this, and the new word!

  • I also had to look up both words lol which I’m really glad I did. Great Haiku!!!

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    Eventually it was a lovely haiku. Let me explain. I had to look up amaranthine and apricity. I've learned two new words today. Thank you.

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    gorgeous work Caroline!!! BRAVO! 👏🏾👏🏾

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Sweet!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lovely words

  • Apricity always seemed like a pretty name for a girl. Lol. Loved your Haiku!

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    Love the play on the title.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Second time I've come across apricity today. Sadly on the page, rather than the flesh.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Oh my. This is beautiful. Very well done.

  • Test7 months ago

    So sensual and beauifully done. Shivers over here x 🤍

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Title brought me in; apricity kept me here... A very sweet moment in three lines...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.