Poets logo

Built Wrong.

With full heads and empty hearts.

By Tommy BallardPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Built Wrong.
Photo by Guillaume de Germain on Unsplash



I hate that the more I get to know people the less about them I tend to like,

I don't know when I became so misanthropic,

I sit and stare at an empty wall and feel it's plight.

A place where all time subsides.

Mt mind is racing, a billion jolts fired at every topic inside.

It freezes me in a place where there's nowhere else to go,

Where everything loses focus and all I feel is myself.

I look in mirrors, I see myself on screens,

All I feel is what I see, and what I see is nothing.

Surely, this can't be how it feels for everyone, right?

I can change this and be like the people who smile and aren't so uptight?

I hope it is, but I know better than to be such an optimist.

In my best times this emptiness was still brewing waiting for the next time it took control of the ride.

I think there's something wrong with me.

sad poetryStream of Consciousness
3

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 5 months ago

    I hope you're okay.🫶

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Maybe you just need a sabbatical away from people....introverts often do (speaking from experience.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.