Poets logo

Breathe In, Breath Out

A Poem

By Susan PoolePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Breathe In, Breath Out
Photo by Eli DeFaria on Unsplash

Peace and quiet.

We say we seek it, crave it in fact.

But the world is noisy,

Hectic in any given moment.

***

And though I’m on the hunt for it,

Comfort often eludes me.

White noise fills my mind,

Crackles like static.

***

My efforts hold merit.

Hot coffee.

Morning meditation.

A call to the kids,

Or a walk in the park.

***

Let me calm my racing nerves,

Feel my heartbeat settle,

Fill my soul with solace,

And enjoy the beauty surrounding me.

***

Easier said than done.

The news is grim.

The media alarming.

What can be done to find joy amidst chaos?

***

I keep trying.

Read a book.

Pet the dogs.

Visit a friend,

Or chase a dream.

***

Colors vary.

Intensities swell.

Smiles fluctuate in availability,

While only one constant persists through it all.

***

Breath.

The in and out of air through your lungs.

A deep inhale.

A slow exhale.

A power that sticks with you wherever you go.

***

In times of stress, it calms me.

Guiding me through grief,

And fear,

And hurt.

***

Life without breath is over.

Let me appreciate the simpleness that it’s there.

That it’s free,

And flowing,

And grants me the opportunity to exist.

***

For now.

Forever.

For as long as it lasts.

Let me savor the breath that runs through me,

And find comfort in being alive.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Susan Poole

Mother, lawyer, nonprofit executive, breast cancer survivor, and aspiring novelist. I haven't narrowed in on my niche just yet. Life is complicated, so I write about it all!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.