Poets logo

Bread Crumbs

lust & longing

By Taylor NealPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2

I love you from a distance,

it’s all I can do.

I can’t feel you anymore

so I love you from memory.

You see, when I’m with you

I want you close to me

touching me

squeezing my calves,

your hand around the back of my neck

gentle choke-

I want you inside me.

Surrounding me, filling me,

I want you to absorb me.

To be absorbed by you,

my body completely surrendered

at mercy;

sub space.

Giving me up to you

over and over

I want to open my eyes and see you watching me

grinning,

as you do.

Giggling,

cheeky.

I want you in that way,

only that way

when I’m with you.

I love you but you’re resisting me.

I love you but you’re leaving me.

I love you but you’re holding me back.

you hold me

in a memory,

in a moment in a park a year ago.

pie eaten, beers spilled,

wanna smooch on this hill?

I miss you but you linger

like the taste of the marmalade I spread on the bread you baked for me;

distant sweet.

Craving,

but the bread has gone stale sitting on the counter.

I left it, too long I left it

and when I came back for more it was hard and cold and I couldn’t sink my teeth in the way I used to.

But I can’t seem to throw it away.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Taylor Neal

A multi-disciplinary artist, writer and sex worker's advocacy support worker, Taylor's cumulative practice comes together as a holistic exploration of identity, sexuality, and how the embodied subject navigates space and the natural world.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.