Poets logo

Bonne Fête

Make a Wish

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
7
Bonne Fête
Photo by Tim Zänkert on Unsplash

Hovering at the periphery of reality

Another line on the wall

Perfect rainy weather

Perception of time starting to blur

Yet more days added to, and taken from, the count

-

Before learning about the world

I wasn't certain about my place in it

Right now, it all seems so far away

Though it's closer than I ever thought it would be.

How did I get to this point, without really noticing the years passing?

Doomed to walk ever forward

Always with eyes on the future

Yesterday I was young...

-0-

Months disappear like dew from the morning grass

Alas that I should now notice its absence

Keeping up with myself is hard enough

Even though my story's just begun

-

Another reminder that I exist. And once the candle's gone there's no getting it back.

-

Without ever thinking that I would, I've made it here

I'll face this new challenge with teeth bared in a determined grin

So that I'll never lose sight of the

Hope that I will make it further still and rise above all I've done before

Acrostic
7

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    This was, well, resonant?

  • L.C. Schäfer16 days ago

    Months disappear like dew from the morning grass - I love that

  • It was so nice discovering the secret acrostic message! Really well written, Alexander.

  • Omgggg, I only realised it was an Acrostic when I saw the tag at the bottom. That goes to show how smooth your poem is! Also, that lead me to realise that your Acrostic is "Happy Birthday. Make A Wish." Is it your birthday? If it is, I wish you a veryyyyy Happy Birthday!! 🎂✨️❤️🥰 I did Google your title but it translated from French and said it meant Happy Holidays 😅 "Months disappear like dew from the morning grass" This was my most favourite line. Like it blew my mind! I reread it several times. I loved your poem so much!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)17 days ago

    First of all....... 😤 Thank you for getting the French version of Happy Birthday stuck in my head.... It's been on repeat since I read the title, we're now coming up on an hour... 😤 It took me a second to realize this was an acrostic, honestly until I saw the tag at the end! But before that I loved the feel of this piece, it gave a me a chance for self reflection, and drew me in with that feeling of the ticking clock that reminds us how short our time here is. But I do love the cleverness of the acrostic being "Make a Wish"!! Great work, Mr McEvoy!!!

  • Belle17 days ago

    I love this. It reminds me how time is fleeting, and we must seize the day. Great work, Alexander!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.