Poets logo

Black Tears

Who you are is not determined by makeup

By K. Wisendanger Published 2 months ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
3
Black Tears
Photo by Mayank Dhanawade on Unsplash

Without this prop, I feel so unattractive.

When people criticize my appearance I become depressed, I rescind into darkness, binge eating, excessively eating—doing everything but being physically active.

I wear this prop to conceal my identity.

I wear this prop so I can be beautiful to infinity.

Without this prop, my beauty deteriorates tremendously.

When I look at my natural self, and compare it to myself with make-up, I have enmity.

When I wear this prop I get recognized by many people, it is excessive traffic.

So I take my brush, dip and dab it.

But I know, my beauty ends shortly after this pageant.

Make-up makes me feel so ecstatic.

Without this prop, I don’t feel as charismatic.

As I weep, black puddles form from my teardrops just like oil leaking from a faulty valve cover gasket.

I enjoyed the beauty while it lasted.

By Peter Kalonji on Unsplash

Then I woke up, and realized

beauty is your definition.

Being beautiful is not limited to your skin or facial condition.

Beauty is your inner self; many are blind to this form of beauty because their minds are imprisoned by societies definition of beauty.

Without the make-up, are you satisfied with who you are truly?

Whoever you are, and wherever you may be, know that you are beautiful.

Never let anyone tell you different because that is indisputable.

Both, your inner and outer allure is irrefutable.

Props and cosmetics commonly creates appearances that cause oneself to become delusional.

Image is always renewable.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

K. Wisendanger

A literary architect who builds worlds with words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Fabulous job!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Effective and emotional. Very well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.