Poets logo

Billie Jo the Ballerina

A Poem

By Mother CombsPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
12

Ballet’s not for you

Everyone says you’re too big

That you’re too clumsy

**

Dancing isn’t for you.

Who has seen a dinosaur

Wearing a tutu?

**

But she didn’t care

Brontosaurus have four legs

They are meant to dance

**

She followed her dreams.

So, wearing her pink tutu.

Twirling and leaping

**

Billie Jo fulfilled

her fantasy of being

A ballerina

fact or fictionHaikuFor Fun
12

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 days ago

    I love this breaking of social norms in such a comedic way!! Great poem here MC!!

  • Ameer Bibi17 days ago

    Picture is beautiful and so the poem and your thoughts are lovely. She is right, don't hear to anyone that you can't do it, it will not suit you. I am loving the lesson of follow your heart and groom your skills. Wonderful

  • I burst out laughing at your cover pic because when I read your title, I wasn't expected it to be a dinosaur! I'm so happy for Billie Jo!

  • This was fun and loved the picture

  • Very inspiring be the ballerina be everything you ever wanted to be

  • JBaz18 days ago

    Never let anyone say you can’t BillyJo sure showed them

  • Too cute. Great kids tale

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    This is adorable.

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Billie Jo is so cute in her tutu and followed her dream despite the meanies!

  • Christy Munson18 days ago

    I adore this poem. I am standing, applauding, making my husband holler his worry from another room, "What's happened? Are you ok?!" Yes you can, Billie Jo, Ballerina! Yes you can! 🥳 😎 👑 ⭐️ 🏆

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.