Poets logo

Behind a Velvet Rope

This poem is about the distance a woman places between herself and love and takes the reader through the different emotions she encounters in the face of what might be love at first sight. The reference to a velvet rope symbolizes this distance and precaution.

By ChelaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Depicted here is the 1937 Portrait of Dora Maar by Pablo Picasso; his lover and muse at the time.

At first sight, I began to feel the pressure surmount; every second; a lifetime without. Ten-minutes like this and my brain could become unresponsive. My heart wants to stop.

I breathed deeply, allowing the flow of oxygen in, exhaling the poison out.

There’s much resentment in this space. Brimful of feelings I’d misplaced. Feeling exposed; a vulnerable state; crooked emotion portrayed on my face. My eyes wandered aimlessly across the floor, wondered if the heart could be wounded anymore.

I turned my back temporarily, out of undying necessity. One dozen roses; one war of the roses; thorns, difficult to detach, cut deeply and scratch—

Recoiling back, to those reclusive days, recalling the inhumane ways I’d been betrayed; weeping oceans of salty water, until I’d drowned; dehydrated; shrinking, kneeling; down; waiting in love captively; like a slave in mastery.

I breathed deeply, allowing the flow of oxygen in, exhaling the poison out.

I glanced over my shoulder. I could no longer see him; albeit I could feel him closer. My heart is resuscitated; beating strong and rapidly; breathing steadily. Feeling hopeless; the opposite of despair. Not an unfamiliar pace of the heart. Brought about, perhaps a moment of happenstance, he walked by; his hand brushed like a pedal’s touch against my moistened hand; an ode to hopeless romance.

The beating of my heart rang out like a sonar wave; summoning his attention to befall near at an ultrasonic wavelength only he was meant to hear. Like a measured reflex from a couple of yards away; he turns around, and our eyes meet, seductively he smiles, satisfyingly to me, with pearly white teeth.

A work of art, statuesque; chiseled definition of perfection. In those eyes I yearned to see my reflection. Deep waves on jet black hair; strong cheek bones accentuate his glowing face. Within those arms I yearned to feel his embrace. Panache and a well- groomed mustache; perfect placement above his full lips. I yearned to hear him speak. I presumed a pitch perfect baritone with a handsome undertone; qualities in a man I could condone.

Like a Picasso display, portrait of Dora Maar; from behind a velvet rope, I would gaze in fondness for ours.

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Chela

I’m a writer. I’ve known it all along. I ignored it all along. I don’t care to silence it anymore...💋

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.