Poets logo

Augury

Mo(u)rning Doves

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
7
"Romulus Consulting the Augury", John Leech, a comic from the 1800s

Mo(u)rning Doves

Blue rings

Round dark eyes

With spotted wings.

Beautiful bird,

Symbol of innocence,

Free like the so(u)l

That burns inside me.

<>

Yet the poor girl

Does not know

The difference

Between a window

And the sky…

So I gently trap

Her feathered wings

Between steady hands

And show her the way.

***** * *****

Rommentary:

One day I left the windows down on the truck at work. I came back out to find a couple of mourning doves camping on the dashboard. When I opened the driver’s side door, the bigger of the two flew out the other open window, but the smaller one kept frantically trying to fly up to the sky through the windshield.

I kept both doors open and shooed her in the right direction, but she just kept digging herself farther into one corner of the dash, pushing against what to her might have seemed a forcefield. I let her calm down and gently cupped my hands over her wings, brought her out, and let her go, where she flew to the open air.

What if those things which most beleaguer us are just such mistakes of perception? When we are depressed, for instance, and feel trapped in a state of torpidity, is it perhaps that we trapped ourselves mentally? Have we exhausted ourselves from trying to fly through an unopen window when an open window was nearby the whole time?

Later I saw the dove couple perched together again on the hood of the truck, but I rolled up the windows to leave only a crack too small for them to enter, lest they were again tempted to trap themselves, and I wondered if perhaps someone or something had done the same for me.

A Drawing from John James Audubon's "Birds of America" I hope the couple I met is well on their way to many happy generations...

inspirationalnature poetryGratitude
7

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerard DiLeo16 days ago

    I know I live life just shy of the narrow cracks in the window. Should I roll it up...or down? Great parenthetical work there (you knew I'd like that).

  • Christy Munson23 days ago

    Sweet and lovely. Enjoyed this one a lot!

  • L.C. Schäfer23 days ago

    This is lovely! He must have waited for her, and doesn't that make all the difference?

  • Awww, that dove has my heart. The other day, a stray cat entered my home when my mom left the glass sliding door open. She then closed it without knowing the cat is inside, lol. Poor guy tried his best to go through it, thinking it must some kinda forcefield. I quickly opened it to let him go back out. Lol. Loved your poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 23 days ago

    Rommentary? ;)

  • Lamar Wiggins24 days ago

    Excellent poem and brilliant analogy! Full of wisdom and hope. Thank you for sharing.

  • Rachel Deeming24 days ago

    This is a great story with great Rommentary. I can visualise this so clearly. I really want to call your truck the "Lovey Dovey" - is it allowed or will the Truck police take me away? I mean, they allow trucks to have testicles so masculinity is permitted but birds, peaceful birds, cwtching up on your dash? Surely someone will be upset by this manifestation of all that is goid in the world. Not me or you, Rommi but "others"...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.