Poets logo

and I can never stay

a poem

By Big DreamsPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
and I can never stay
Photo by kilarov zaneit on Unsplash

all the lives I've lived

and all the Loves I've loved

they haunt me with their memories

a mourning mist above

like dew they form in droplets

between the dark and dawn

like the mirrored balls of water

clinging to the surface of my lawn

they haunt me like the birds of prey

they haunt me like the doves

they spread their wings and start to sing

their talons drawing blood

bittersweet they come to me

in shades of grey and black

as only life has color

and life is what they lack

Yet still I cling to the past

to release them would be worse

all I have is a silhouette

a soft and mellow verse

sometimes a verse will sting

and in the stillness it will ring

to break the silence of the dream

and carry me away

To a place

where I touch your face

to no avail

we can't embrace

and I can never stay

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Big Dreams

Writer and artist who loves dogs, beaches, coffee and solitude

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    Lovely poem, well done! Check out my poems as well! Have a wonderful day🥰❤️🫶

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    This is lovely. I particularly liked this bit...shades of grey and black as only life has color and life is what they lack

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.