Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

An Empty Cup

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
6
An Empty Cup
Photo by Alejandra Parejo on Unsplash

Note: This poem includes metaphotical language about self-harm. If you or a loved one are experiencing actual thoughts of self-harm, you can contact the Crisis Text Line by texting “START” to 741741.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been pouring from an empty cup for far too long.

They say you can't even do that. "You can't pour from an empty cup,"

but I would slice my veins open time and time again to keep refilling the damn thing if it meant I was still helping.

That's the problem with me, isn't it? I know it is.

I hear the warning signs, parrot them back to others, and at the end of the day, when I have no spoons left to give, I will carve a new one from my bones just to be of use.

CONTENT WARNINGsad poetry
6

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    I feel attacked 😅 I've self harmed since I was 18 to 31 in order to fill up cup and carve out spoons. I'm 2 years clean now but it's so difficult being a people pleaser with saviour complex. Loved your poem!

  • Brenton F6 months ago

    A hauntingly beautiful and descriptive piece which begs the question, are you ok?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.