Poets logo

An Eclipse Is Happening on the Eighth of April 2024

An acrostic mention of the experience of four.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
6
An Eclipse Is Happening on the Eighth of April 2024
Photo by Adam Smith on Unsplash

There is an eclipse coming real soon. I haven't noticed many since I was but a child. I remember that time with fondness.

Eye protection is so important in an eclipse to see

Children love to be involved, I did back in the 60s

Let me see, I was probably eight, or nine in 62, and 63

I wore my dad's welding helmet and there were three

People watching with me

Steve wasn't born yet and Pat was too young.

Every eclipse in the early 60s, I remember being with Dad, how Carrie and Chuck clung to me was rad with eyes closed so they wouldn't see the sun!

nature poetryFor FunFamilyAcrostic
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    It's really wonderful when you think about it...how these supernatural events bring people together to make memories, imaginations expand, and memories are made.

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    This is a Rad poetry of your wonderful experience of the eclipse in your youth . Love it especially the part using the wielding helmet β™₯οΈπŸ˜ŽπŸŒ’πŸ€©

  • Such wonderful memories! Loved your poem!

  • β€œM”2 months ago

    Great 🫢🏻

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    I wasn't born till '64, but I remember a few solar eclipses when in school for it was a part of a science lesson and we had these cards we looked at. I remember one solar eclipse I sat on my backyard swing and listened to nighttime creatures at 2PM I think the time was. I would read this as part of a preschool or kindergarten science lesson.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.