Poets logo

Always with us

A poem for my grandmother

By Ashley ShiflettPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4

A gentle kiss, a loving gaze,

here to celebrate a once embrace,

In parting sorrows, a painless slumber,

a life once full of endless wonder.

I do not weep for a life once known,

for your dreams linger, never alone,

I will not dwell on sorrows face,

for amidst the dark still lingers grace.

Our love will find its sacred place,

In the sweet embrace of memories grace,

As the petals of time, dance across the sky,

I will feel your spirit pass me by.

Peace gently descends our cherished moments,

As we take each step with friends and loved ones,

To honor the footprints that is left behind,

Your legacy of love, forever enshrined.

For in the drape of life's grand design,

We are forever connected, hearts entwined,

And though you may have journeyed afar,

Your love guides us, like the brightest star.

Let us remember, the joy that remains,

In each gentle breeze, your sweet refrains,

And as we gaze upon the stars above,

We feel your presence, an everlasting love.

For Mamaow, with love.

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalFamily
4

About the Creator

Ashley Shiflett

I have always had a passion for writing.

I hope to share my love for stories with everyone that I meet. I'm hopeful that in some way they will motivate you, help you smile, or even encourage you through a difficult time.

All are welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    gorgeously penned! What a Lovely tribute!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Exquisitely written!!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.