Poets logo

A WOMAN OF MANY HATS

Mother's Day Tribute

By Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)Published 13 days ago 1 min read
6
A WOMAN OF MANY HATS
Photo by Onur Bahçıvancılar on Unsplash

I walked into your room and gazed at all the hats that you left behind. Curious by the different colors, styles and sizes, I ventured forward slowly, and took a closer look. Many of them were old while others still look new and I wondered about the different types of occassions that inspired you to buy and wear them.

I did not know where to start as they were so many to count. So I decided to start with the oldest. It was a brown wollen hat that had the word Mother embroided on it. I picked it up, removed the dust on it and held it close to my heart. I remember seeing you wearing it almost everyday. Memories of you playing your motherly role flashed back and I sat down in the chair by your window and wept.

As I stood up and walked towards the door, I saw another o that I often admire you in. It has the name Gardener printed on it. I smiled when I remembered how you chased Bex and Kubi that hat when they accidently threw their small tennis ball into your cabbage plot and destroyed some of your cabbages. I laughed when you chased them around the house to whip them and how they sped leaving you out of breathe. I shut the door behind me and cracked up laughing.

I missed you Mummy.

Happy Mother's Day In Heaven.

Family
6

About the Creator

Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)

I love reading and researching to gain inspiration and ideas. I appreciate those who write and I hope I can inspire you with my writings too. 

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Z.a.i.n.t.z12 days ago

    omg, i love this.💙💙💙

  • This was so poignantly beautiful. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Colleen Walters13 days ago

    Simply beautiful ❤️😊

  • Gloria Penelope13 days ago

    Too many memories left through her hats, may her soul rest in peace. lovely story. I enjoyed reading it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.