Poets logo

A Soothing Siren Song

A Villanelle

By Stephanie J. BradberryPublished 5 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
28
A Soothing Siren Song
Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

I turn around to say so long,

To a world that I once knew,

For waves beckon unto me, a soothing siren song.

/

Ruminating what went wrong,

Memories feign my love untrue,

I turn around to say so long.

/

Thoughts swirl as a throng,

β€˜Til tired thinking of wanton you.

For waves beckon unto me, a soothing siren song.

/

Feelings lost: where doth they belong?

The back and forth is nothing new.

I turn around to say so long.

/

Emotions held in decorative sarong,

Tumble to a somber adieu,

For waves beckon unto me, a soothing siren song.

/

Intuition strikes a mellow bong,

Knowing what I need to do.

I turn around to say so long,

For waves beckon unto me, a soothing siren song.

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
28

About the Creator

Stephanie J. Bradberry

I have a passion for literature and anime. And I love everything involving academia, health, metaphysics and entrepreneurship. For products and services, visit stephaniebradberry.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer5 months ago

    Beautifully written

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    You made this seem so effortless. Maybe i will practice with this one. Happy to see your smiling face again. Kudos...Top Story.

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Beautiful! Congratulations Top Story πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

  • I certainly do resonate with the siren song of beckoning waves. Beautifully told.

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Excellent villanelle Stephanie! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘ ..and congrats on your top story too! Best wishes for the holidays and new year ahead!

  • Gina C.5 months ago

    This is so, so beautiful, Stephanie!

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    G O R G E O U S! Stephanie, this is such a beautiful villanelle! The rhythm of this piece flows like gentle waves, and you stirred so much emotion through each lineβ€”letting go of that which no longer serves and embracing the new/unknown. Incredible! πŸ’«πŸ’ž

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Judah LoVato5 months ago

    Lovely word choice and rhythm- I find the opening stanza especially relatable in a rather looong year

  • This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your Villanelle! Hope you've been doing well.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Absolutely Beautiful!!! πŸ’–

  • Nicely done

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Outstanding.

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Subtly seductive siren song. So serene.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    What a beautiful poem.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I can really feel the tug, the lure...

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is beautiful and so elegant. Nicely done.

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    Beautiful.

  • Hi Steph!!! I am so glad to see you writing again. This is so beautifully written with hints of somber melancholy.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Oh, that is hauntingly beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.