Poets logo

A Reoccurring Wickedness

The Witch

By Paul ForshtayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

As these things begin

With, really, no start

And yet we’re omniscient still

With purpose to win

And a triumphant heart

And iron-made, courageous will.

A distance so near;

A wickedness felt;

A brother the witch locked away.

A cackle and fear

Would inside me melt

My courage with effortless sway.

Beyond just a bend

Without being seen

A castle so menacing stood.

It could not defend

Against my good being;

the bad never stood up to good.

I’d race through its doors

And dash ‘cross its floors

And hurriedly room upon room

Would never deliver my brother to me-

I was certain he was meeting his doom.

And the walls would get thinner

The ceiling would cave

And just when all hope seemed to fade

I’d hear the weak voice of my brother in arms

And I’d crawl toward it without dissuade.

I’d pull him to freedom through crumbling walls

And a witch would be hot at our heels.

And she’d cackle and hiss at us, screaming, balled fists, baddest bitch with no earthly appeals.

And we’d make it to safety, my brother and I-

A close call it was always to be,

But the dream would return,

And the witch would be there

to kidnap my brother from me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paul Forshtay

I’ve been writing all my life, but have never really sought publication by any means.

I’ve written an obituary once.

Apart from that, rant-riddled Facebook posts and endless reams of paper scattered about the States are all I’ve got.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Forshtay (Author)about a year ago

    This was a reoccurring and extremely terrifying dream I’d had as a child. I would wake after such occurrences being able to smell the dream or hear echos of the witch’s laughter. It was so horrifying and realistic. I couldn’t tell you the last I’d had such a dream, but the impression it’d left has made me certain she could return anytime she’d please.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.