Poets logo

A reminder to

By Ali SPPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
A reminder to
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Break the cycle of what-ifs and

Constant reminiscing on the past. I miss moments when I

Danced in the rain with my

Eyes closed, feeling the water tickle my cheeks. I was

Free of burdens, light as a feather

Going nowhere and anywhere, drifting in the wind.

Happiness is what I miss.

In life, we are told to expect change, but

Just because we know doesn't prepare us for when life comes

Knocking us over like a crashing wave. It

Leaves us breathless. I am tired of

Making plans

None of which have come to pass. Do I keep crying

Or laugh, for I've cried too many tears. Enough to make

Passageways leading to an ocean filled with droplets of what I miss. I

Question God and why my cross seems too heavy to carry,

Remembering that he gives his most brutal battles to his bravest soldiers.

Surely, he knows what he's doing.

To think I was the author of my life

Until I realized the chapters I wrote were an attempt to take control. A

Visitor I am on earth; I must embrace uncertainty, creating a retreat

Where happiness can reside.

Xanadu-like, a place of peace and contentment.

Yesterday is gone; it's time to move forward, embracing the principles of

Zen while striving to find inner peace.

GratitudeStream of ConsciousnessinspirationalFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    This was a great read Ali, and I didn’t catch that it was an Abecedarian until midway through, such was the flow! “leading to an ocean filled with droplets of what I miss” was a lovely line, and the idea of surrendering control and a trusting in a greater plan is a strong one 🙏🏽

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.