Poets logo

A Message from the Annunaki

Because Aliens or Something

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 28 days ago 1 min read
5
Are their funny-looking hats made of tin-foil?

A Message from the Anunnaki:

You did the Work,

Yet there is still work to do.

Like these fucking dishes.

These dirty dishes never go away.

Yet how many nourishing meals have they kept from the floor?

Don’t be an ingrate.

Do the fucking dishes!

They want to be clean!

***** * *****

A Reply from the Messisloppi:

We’ll do it later.

***** * *****

C. Rommial Butler:

I submit to the court of public opinion and our alien overlords that after I wrote this I did in fact do the fucking dishes. I did not enjoy it, but I am grateful to once again have a receptacle that allows me to carry my food around and eat at my leisure; though I regret to inform you that this does not necessarily keep my delectables from falling to the floor. However, we can safely classify any such mishap as a result of user error. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a floor to clean…

ProseFor Fun
5

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran28 days ago

    Hahahahahahahhaha this was hilarious! Luckily I don't mind doing the dishes.

  • Christy Munson28 days ago

    Great fun! Thank you for the chuckles. Loved it.

  • Rachel Deeming28 days ago

    Ha ha! I have a great deal more respect for my plate and my balancing powers. Less peas maybe, more cubes of squash.

  • The Annunaki were ancient Sumerian gods which some modern commentators suppose were aliens and the true progenitors of the human race. This just goes to show that parents never stop trippin' about housework, even after they have long moved away. Also, notice that the Annunaki did not lift a finger (or tentacle, or pincer?) to help! Typical...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.