Poets logo

A Love Letter to Death

A 'Loss, Memory, and Mortality' Seminar Exercise

By David MuñozPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
A Love Letter to Death
Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

I have long known you,

heard you described as a thief,

a robber who comes

in the night.

Snatching life while we are unaware,

taking the young without reason,

the old without warning.

It was the men in black

who made me fear you,

another way to assert

their control over me

in the never-ending tussle

for my soul.

But as I slipped their grasp

and came to understand you

better,

I came to know you as

just an angel doing his job.

Free Verse
Like

About the Creator

David Muñoz

I'm a recovering artist in Austin, Texas. Stoic student, mystic, writer, poet, guitarist, father, brother, son, friend. I am an eternal soul living a human experience. Part of that experience is working through my stuff by making art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.