Poets logo

A Good Place to Die

The Last Dinosaur (Challenge entry)

By Simon GeorgePublished 12 days ago 1 min read
2
Eduardo Cano (Pexels)

I roar my last roar

My throat burns from ash

My brothers and sisters are dying

And my prey no longer tastes the same

There’s no glory in this

..

Now the sun has fallen.

The bright flash signalled the end.

Every day, a new friend falls.

This is the end; I know it.

..

There are tears in their blood.

They plead for a swift death; nobody wants to suffer

I am the master of death. It is my duty

But this is too much to bear

No one should die alone, but alone, I must be

..

I am the last one left.

That is my responsibility.

I am ready for what comes next

I have found my spot to die

Somewhere, I can live forever

..

I hope one day I am found

So that our time is not forgotten

For I am the ruler of this time, and heavy wears the crown

My subjects did me proud

It was an honour to serve them

..

I lived as long as I could for my children

Now, I die for their memory to last forever

They will call me Tyrannosaurus

I’ll be forever miss-understood

But that is my burden to carry

For life without death is a death without end

By Michael Bourgault on Unsplash

*This picture is of Montana. The first fossil of a Tyrannosaurus Rex was discovered in 1902 in Hell Creek, Montana, by renowned fossil hunter Barnum Brown.

_____________________________

© Simon George 2024. All Rights Reserved.

_____________________________

nature poetrysad poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    This was so poignant. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.