Poets logo

A Fond Flashback

The scent of Childhood

By Allie BickertonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
A Fond Flashback
Photo by Anastasia Zhenina on Unsplash

The aroma calls

Strawberry fields and plastic

Ball bathed in static

nature poetryfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Allie Bickerton

She / Her - Canada

I spent most of my life immersed in visual arts and I neglected my literacy.

Nurturing harboured emotions and poetic thoughts I’ve stashed within.

Thank you for being here! 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carminumabout a year ago

    I’ve been reading a lot of entries for the TC challenge, and to me this is one of the very best so far. (Funnily enough, I was recently reading a book by Buyng-Chul Han called ‘The scent of time’.) Abstract concepts are discouraged in poetry; with time, it's particularly tempting to invoke Transience, Eternity, or Memory in the abstract; you avoid that trap by focusing on images, details, and the senses. There’s a freshness to the contrasts in your imagery, and the stylistic touches (alliteration, ‘calls’-‘ball’) are a nice flourish. Ideally, the best line should be the last one, and in this one I think it is.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.