Poets logo

'90s Kid Chichirya

Nostalgic Crunch Snack

By Charlene Ann Mildred BarrogaPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
7
Edited by Author from CANVA PRO

It was a flavorful dance to my childhood,

each crunch and crumble

spoke of endless afternoons and the simple joys

filling my pockets with more than just coins.

Mik-Mik, a powdered delight,

whispering of innocence with each sugary flight.

It taught me patience and the art of savoring.

The sweet, milky clouds that graced my tongue,

a lesson in delight,

one sachet at a time.

Chippy, the red bag of bold crunches,

through my young heart.

Its barbecue tang,

a melody of mischief and play, binding me in moments of shared whispers and laughter,

a camaraderie born of salt and spice.

Boy Bawang, the garlicky champion,

has small kernels packed with the punch of a thousand flavors.

A sense of bravery in bites so bold,

teaching me that even the smallest among us -

could stand tall in taste and spirit.

Lumpia Shanghai Cheese, a fusion of worlds,

sum up the warmth of home in crispy, cheesy bites.

A bite into the familiar, wrapped in comfort

of family gatherings, where love was served

in platters, not just plates.

Ding Dong is a mixed bag of wonders,

a treasury of textures and tastes,

mirroring the diversity of my dreams -

and a handful of happiness,

varied and vibrant,

together, I am more.

Ice Gems, the jeweled sweets of yesteryear,

crowned my childhood with their sugary sparkle.

Each gem is a memory frozen in time.

A crunch that, with the colors of imagination and whimsy.

Clover chips, the wavy whispers of cheese,

curling around my senses with a comforting embrace.

A to the simple yet Finding joy

in the undulating paths

of flavor and form.

Cheez-it, the square of solace,

a cheesy crunch that spoke of afternoons well spent.

Beside friends, beneath skies painted in the hues -

of dusk and freedom,

a taste of solidarity in every bite.

Oishi Prawn Crackers, the sea's melody,

captured in the crunch of my carefree days,

its oceanic whispers carrying adventure,

signal me to the shores

of the unknown with every bite.

And Kirei, the airy whispers of childhood,

a texture of laughter and lightness,

in memory of me of the beauty in simplicity,

the elegance in joy,

a breath of happiness that lingered long after the taste faded.

Ri-Chee, the creamy finish,

a signature of days spent in the glow -

of afternoon suns and the shadow plays

of trees swaying in the gentle breeze,

a creamy of days drenched in innocence.

These were the flavors of my youth.

Not just snacks but markers of time.

Each bite is a step on the path of growing up.

A path flavored with joy,

nostalgia,

and the sweet,

salty,

savory of childhood's boundless wonder.

In these tastes,

I find not just memories,

but the essence of what it meant to be free,

unburdened by the world-

sustained by the simple pleasures of a snack shared,

a moment lived, a childhood treasured.

For Funslam poetryhumorchildrens poetry
7

About the Creator

Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga

I'm a writer and content creator who loves to share tips on how to maximize your productivity and get the most out of your day. I

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    I've never heard of most of these!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Magnificent and an amazing list of snacks!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • The only snack I'm familiar with are the prawn crackers! But the others sound so delicious! Loved your poem!

  • Movie Foo12 months ago

    Very excellent

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.