Poets logo

5 Tips for Improving Your Poetry

Advice from an amateur poet

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
40
5 Tips for Improving Your Poetry
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

If you had told me five years ago that I was going to be a poetry loving nerd, I would've told you there's no way I'd waste my time trying to become the next Emily Dickinson or Billy Collins... And yet, here I am.

A few years have passed since I wrote my first poem and posted it to Vocal, and now I couldn't be more in love. Writing poetry has been the most difficult type of writing I've encountered (not that I've dipped my toes into every writing pond) but I think that's what I love most about it – the challenge to communicate something in as few words as possible.

Most of my learning has been self-taught which has been mostly a good thing, but it would've been nice to have a mentor to give me tips and advice. Today, I'd like to be that person for other beginning poets!

Here are my tips to improve your poetry:

Disclaimer: I am NOT an expert at writing poetry, but I have experimented with it a lot. 🙂

1) Constantly observe your world

Observe and explore the world around you – there's nothing more important than this as a writer. The things that you see, that pique your curiosity, and you pull into your poem, is what makes poetry feel real.

It may seem unusual, but try to incorporate the things that annoy or distract you. Again, this will help pull a reader into your poem.

I wrote "The Flooded Path" when I was simply out on a run and encountered a literal flooded path. My imagination turned that scene into a poem:

2) Take a look back in time

Grab some old photos, toys or objects from when you were younger and see what memories they bring up. What can you remember from when a picture was taken (or what can your family remember) and investigate what it feels like looking at it now.

Childhood memories are interesting to write about because, as an adult, you realize how silly or harmless something was even if it didn't seem like it at the time.

3) Step outside of your usual way of thinking

When you write a lot, you develop a style specific to you and while it's good to have something to come back to, it can also leave you in a rut.

Step outside of your usual pattern of writing and try something new! If you don't write about love often, try it out! If you rhyme in your poems, try to write a poem without rhyming. If you're really stuck, try copying the form and style of a poem your really admire.

Writing haiku poetry is my favorite thing to do when I feel like I can't come up with any ideas. It's very different from my usual type of poetry but it helps get ideas flowing and challenges me creatively:

4) Open yourself up to new experiences

In the words of Billy Collins, "... poetry is really the only history we have of the human heart." So when you go out and experience something new, or something new just happens to you, listen to what your heart is telling you – then write a poem.

5) Get outside; be in nature

I cannot emphasize enough how important it is to get outside and surround yourself with nature! Observing the natural world is a catalyst for creativity and will help you find really great metaphors and imagery (I'm a sucker for beautiful floral imagery).

Also, a part of writing is about trying to make sense of the world, and even though nature is natural, there's still a lot we don't understand and it can be fun (or deeply terrifying) to imagine the meaning behind certain natural events.

When it snowed here in Oregon, I made sure that I spent at least an hour a day running around like a fool in it, and that caused me to write one of my favorite poems:

And that's all folks! With these five tips, you're ready to start tackling new poetry projects with exciting and creative ideas. I can't wait to read what you create!

———

Thank you for reading! If you found this helpful, please leave a like, tip, or share with a friend. It really helps support me and I deeply appreciate it! Thank you 😊.

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram (deverswriting) or Twitter (doitlikederk).

how to
40

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Richard Prosser8 months ago

    I am just starting out, thanks for sharing your insight.

  • Great tips Derek :) I have had some formal college training in writing, specifically poetry, but I can tell you that you don't need it! From an education perspective it is nice to have a group of writing to "bounce" you work off of...which is what vocal is! The other would be having someone help you interpret understand the meaning (or multiple meaning behind poetry). Again...not needed. To learn poetry: follow your wonderful tips above, dig deep and read, read, read. As you mention it is best to write from experience...which means we have to get out into the world and experience (so childhood is such fertile ground for this - especially since everyone's experience is different). It also helps to take a subject that you have always thought about one way and put a twist or spin on it (look at from a different perspective). It helps you grow and well as the reader. Wonderful tips! Thank you so much :)

  • Jessica Bandaabout a year ago

    Thank you for your insights. Though I been writing poetry since I was a kid , these are very helpful tips that I will incorporate. I’m no Shakespeare and like you never had a mentor. So I appreciate your help.

  • Carissa Rabelo2 years ago

    Thank you for this piece! It was helpful and a very enjoyable read :)

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Thanks for affirming practises I already have in place!

  • Thank you for sharing your insights!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.