Petlife logo

Brotherly Love

A Happy Update On Rudy's Brother

By Misty RaePublished 11 months ago 3 min read
10
Brothers with a stick: Photo courtesy of the author

Is there anything more joyful than watching 2 dogs play? I don’t know, but it sure makes me happy, especially when they’re brothers!

I’ve been delving into some pretty heavy topics lately and arguing with people, so I thought I’d take a break from trying to change the world. Today, I’m going to write about something happy — an update on Rudy’s littermate.

A little over a year ago, I wrote a story on another platform about a pup named Hank, a gorgeous Border Collie/Australian Shepherd/Great Pyrenees mix. He’s Rudy’s brother, they came from the same litter.

We’d first met him at a local park when the pups were about 14 weeks old. Then, there he was, his handsome little face on the local Humane Society website. Hank had been surrendered.

Photo Courtesy of the Sault Ste Marie Humane Society (https://ssmhumanesociety.ca/animals/index.cfm?fuseaction=ViewOne&id=3946)

My heart broke for him. I had to have him! But it didn’t work out that way. I didn’t meet their criteria.

So Hank sat for a while. Then he was adopted. The new owner contacted me after reading my story. I was happy he’d found a good home.

Three weeks later, there he was again, on the Humane Society Website. By this time I had a mix of emotions. I was heartbroken and honestly, quite pissed off that such a beautiful animal could be dumped not once, but twice! Seriously, who are these people? But I also had that little tingly excitement, like maybe he was meant to be mine.

I was no closer to meeting the Humane Society’s criteria though. I didn’t have a house with a fenced yard. Actually, this time they told me if I didn’t have a farm, I wouldn’t be considered.

Months went by and there he sat. I checked the website day after day for updates. I watched as other dogs came and went and his beautiful face remained, sleeping in a cage at night, longing for a family to call his own. The thought of it brings tears to my eyes even now.

Then, one day, walking in the same park as we had so many months earlier when Rudy first met Hank, we ran into Lowie. It was Hank! He’d been adopted and his new family changed his name.

The brothers recognized each other immediately and vigorous play ensued! I was happy to see he’d finally found a home but was naturally skeptical. The couple seemed nice enough, but so did the other people that had (and dumped) him.

We exchanged contact details after discovering that Rudy’s brother was only a 10-minute drive away. Playdates were discussed. Again, I was skeptical. We’ve met all kinds of people who ask to exchange contact information, promise to get in touch, and all that only to never hear from them again.

I was wrong. These people did get in touch. And Rudy got to play with his brother.

Here they are on an early playdate:

Snow bros!

They’re very similar to one another. They’re both very bright and energetic and love to run and wrestle. And they’re both little sweeties, well, big sweeties. Lowie gives better kisses (Rudy doesn’t give them at all), but Rudy’s a better cuddler. Rudy thinks he’s a lap dog. Lowie also listens a little better than Rudy and is a little more timid. Rudy’s a stubborn alpha type (I wonder where he got that….hmmmm).

Rudy and Lowie now have a standing weekly playdate. The day or the time may change slightly depending on the weather and working schedules, but it always happens. They look forward to it. So much so that neither brother’s name can be brought up in front of the dogs before a playdate because it causes them so much excitement.

In fact, I’m pretty sure Rudy knows when he’s going to be going to see Lowie without my even saying so. He seems to pick up on the slight changes in my daily routine. Maybe I shower a little earlier or drink my coffee faster, I don’t know. Whatever it is, he notices and starts pacing and staring at me until something happens.

And sometimes, especially now, the brothers get to see each other even more than once a week. They get bonus excursions, hikes, swimming trips all sorts of good stuff. And of course, they love it!

It was a tough road, but Lowie (formerly Hank) found his fur-ever home. Third time’s a charm, as they say. He gets good food and toys and lots and lots of love. And in the bargain, we made some pretty good friends and Rudy has not only a best friend but a best brother.

See, sometimes, happy endings do happen!

They figured out that breaking the stick in half meant they could each have one

......................................................................

Originally published on Medium.com

dog
10

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    (I must resist the temptation to ask with whom she's been arguing. Do not give in to the urge. Behave yourself, Randy.) What a wonderful, heartwarming story. Our last dog had been abandoned five times before he found us & he was the best dog anyone could have asked for. He came into our lives one week before we were set to move to a home with a fenced in backyard. Of course, no one told us that Australian Shepherd-Blue Heeler mixes can clear a five foot fence without even touching it. Did I mention, he had abandonment issues? But once we worked through that small issue, he was absolutely the best.

  • Dorothy Gibbs11 months ago

    Happy for the brothers

  • Rachel Deeming11 months ago

    Ah, dogs reunited. A great story to start the day. Made me all warm inside. So pleased Hank/Lowie found his forever home.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    What a wonderful, heartwarming story. Yay for Rudy and Lowie.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    What a beautiful true story. I always love an happy ending. Rudy is so lucky to have you for a mom 🥰💃🏽🥳

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Misty ~ Please check with your Rudy and Lowie for a Play Date 'Go-Fetch' Contest with my Dude and Doug? - Both 'Humane' Adoptees - Jay

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Thanks for sharing your sweet story! I love that it seems to have worked out for Lowie, and that Rudy and Lowie get to hang out regularly! That's awesome! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.