Motivation logo

Why I am adding Author's Notes to my Vocal Back Catalogue

"Clearly you have nothing better to do." Is the wrong answer. (Funny though).

By Caroline JanePublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
16
Why I am adding Author's Notes to my Vocal Back Catalogue
Photo by Dim Hou on Unsplash

Why have I started to add backstories to my old Vocal-published work?

Let me cut to the chase:-

1. I enjoy it when others do similar. I feel closer to the author when I read the perspective that motivated or framed their words. I have bought books based on the quality of the ramblings in the marginalia. Some people hate it when people write on books - I say, what were they meant to do before quick edit?!

2. Doing this is a way to share elements of myself with people. I have always been a fairly closed book. It has been said that I enjoy my own company far too much for an extrovert. However, this is because I shy away from being judged. I think it is time to put my heart on my sleeve more and be brave.

3. I am still learning, and adding the author's notes to my work helps me to look back and think about what I was trying to achieve when I wrote a poem or piece of fiction. Mostly I write for challenges, but not always. Sometimes it is interesting to reflect on your headspace when you produced a poem or a story and then to note what you have learned from that little writing adventure.

4. Sharing our failures is as important (if not more) as sharing our successes. I have spent much of my career helping others realise their potential, and what I know is that stories of easy glory do not shape confidence, but tales of trials, tribulations, and adversity do. So, I thought I would start openly critiquing my work; annotate some challenge attempts that did not win and why I believe they didn't. Describe where I went wrong and what I have learned. I am hoping this helps people reconcile their own challenge losses and encourages them to keep going.

Some Examples from my Poetry Collection:

Melancholy Skies was one of the first times I had put some author's notes at the end of a poem. I thought it would help readers not from my locality to empathise with the imagery in the poem. I got a top story for this, but I think it was likely more because of the comments than the poem's quality.

Vivi dissectio is one of the shortest poems I have written - and for a good reason - its length is in keeping with the content. I have, post-publication, added some notes to share a little of myself and how the words came about so I, and perhaps others, can reflect on the content and the conscious brevity of it.

The Wake of Weekend Warriors is a favourite poem of mine, but it did not touch the sides of the poetry challenge it was entered into. I understand why completely. Although, as I note at the end of it - if, as Poet Carol Ann Duffy describes, "Poetry is the music of being human," surely, there is room for some heavy metal souls.

Queen of the Web was pulled back to drafts pretty much as soon as I published it because I had an emotional meltdown in the subtitle. Yep, not exactly a proud moment. I added the notes to remind me what had happened and not to be such a hypocrite!

My Will: In Glorious Technicolour was the first poem, actually, the first of anything, that I wrote for Vocal. I entered it into the Colours Challenge. I can see why it did not win; in fact, I cringe at how arrogant it reads. It was meant to be a poetic celebration of starting out on a new journey. I was pioneering again after cancer and navigating a pandemic in food retail - it just goes to show intention is not as important as impact. We all get judged by the latter and not by the former.

***

Author's note:

I had to write this little ending - it is amusing to me if nobody else!!!

Self-criticism, working through our edges, understanding the landscape we write in, appreciating the pitfalls, listening to peers, and focusing on progress rather than missed successes has helped me evolve as a writer. I recently had my first win in fiction; one day, I will hopefully get one in poetry too.

Until that day comes, I shall continue reflecting on my performance and keep sharing my thoughts. None of us succeeds in silo, and if I can throw a few little crumbs onto the bird table, as meagre as they may be, then I should. Who knows, they may be of help to somebody other than me!

adviceself help
16

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I really like this ideas you have of going back to honestly critique and self-reflect. I may have to take a serious look at some of my old stuff.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this idea! It really does help us to get to know our fellow creators on a deeper level. I also love the self-reflection and critique of previous pieces aspect of writing Author notes! Great work Caroline! Very inspiring! :)

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This a great reflection piece of your creations ,love this concept of adding an author’s note. Thank you 🙂

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    I think reflection is a great idea and honestly I’m going to go back and add some notes too! I was nervous to do that but this made me feel empowered now! Thank you!

  • I’ve started dipping my toe into the author’s notes waters. I hadn’t thought about going back to old works, but I think I might if anything it would be a nice trip down memory lane

  • Great Article and I Related to these words 💬 ❤️💯📝Great Job❗

  • Lol, I love your Author’s Note on this piece about Author’s Note 🤣 Jokes aside, I actually enjoy Author’s Note because I love to know what inspired them to write this or the backstory or some deeper meaning. I'm so happy you're adding them to your older pieces!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Great thoughts here, Caroline. It's got me wondering when I actually started adding Author's Notes and now I need to fo back and look at all of my older ones.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I loved your insights on doing this. I like to go back and read old pieces of mine just to see where I came from and what I've changed and how I've hopefully grown. I stopped putting notes for awhile, but I do love when others put them in. One of my favorite things really about reading on the platform. Great article to share!!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Great idea, I’ll re-read your pieces. Author’s Note gives that personal insight on the work and makes it personable.

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Self reflection is therapeutic. I’m so glad you decided to write this. And you’re right, Authors notes give a better understanding of who we are and where the inspiration comes from. I enjoyed this.

  • These are excellent insights and it is nice to see what inspired the author to create. I congratulate you on your Top Story when you get it later today Caroline :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.