Motivation logo

Why Haiku?

The Benefits Of Writing Haiku

By sleepy draftsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2023
76
Why Haiku?
Photo by Bench Accounting on Unsplash

So, if you’ve been on Vocal for a while now (or at least since November ‘22!) you may have noticed, what Mike Singleton - MikeyDred lovingly refers to, as the “Plague of Haiku.” Since November, Vocal has announced three separate haiku challenges, the most recent one even being the chance to write a “Quadru-Haiku.”

Now, if you’re like me, you might be asking…why?

Why such an emphasis on haiku?

It wasn’t until I’d written 6 entries to 3 different haiku challenges (9 haiku in total) that it dawned on me:

Maybe these haiku challenges are Vocal’s way of helping us all become slightly better writers.

When I read back over my first entry to the haiku challenge, compared to my most recent one, I was able to see how much stronger each challenge made my writing. But it was only because of Vocal’s Top Stories, and the other writers on Vocal that any of those learning curves even happened in the first place.

When I entered the first challenge, all I knew about haiku was that it required three lines and 17 syllables, broken down into a 5/7/5 syllable format.

It wasn’t until the announcement of a second haiku challenge, and Scott Wade’s Top Story, “The Anarchy of a Haiku Challenge” that I learned about kigo, kireji, and the aha! moment, all iconic of a haiku.

After that, I slowed down while writing. I chose and measured my words more deliberately. I took some time to research and read more haiku.

Each running attempt at writing a haiku felt a little more fun, the more I learned the rules and leaned into them.

The process made me think of a different Top Story titled, “Why I’ll Never Win A Challenge” from around the same time the second haiku challenge was announced.

(The article is a great read, and I highly recommend checking it out!)

In the article, it’s emphasized that the writer usually tries to subvert expectations by looking for creative loopholes in the challenges/prompts.

As someone who has done this many, many times themselves, that part of the article really caught my attention.

It made me realize, when everyone tries to subvert expectations, we often end up writing different versions of similar loopholes. We all want to stand out from the judges, catch our readers slightly off-guard, or be considered original. The beauty of a challenge, though, is to see how creative you can get within the confines of a prompt.

There are no loopholes with a haiku.

You have to follow the rules to get the desired result for it to even be considered a haiku in the first place.

And as I explored more haiku, I started to realize the beauty in that.

So why the emphasis on haiku?

We might never really know.

But, personally, I’m grateful for the chance to work on these aspects of my writing. Economy of language and knowing your audience (aka: following the rules and guidelines set out by your audience - in this case, the Vocal+ judges) are two useful skills for any writer to have. For me, the haiku challenges provide a fun, safe place to playfully tone these writing muscles in a new way; a small, personal mental gym with shiny new equipment.

Above all, though, I’m excited to see how writing so much haiku will translate into future approaches to fiction.

For me, I've found myself slowing down while writing, choosing my words more deliberately, playing within the confines of the prompts more, and learning how to incorporate new aha! moments.

How do you feel about writing haiku? Have you found any benefits?

goals
76

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    I missed most of the haiku challenges, but I think you're absolutely right about their purpose. I've found them to be really great for brevity (something I struggle with) and for using visuals and symbols more effectively. I also really appreciate your expansion on the idea of winning (or not) challenges. Finding loopholes seems to be an impulse here, but I will say that so many creative takes are born out of it. The longer I've been on the platform, the easier it's been to accept the challenges and simply learn how to work within it, like you said. It's a challenge, after all, not a creative exercise. Of course hey can be both, but, like a challenge has hard rules typically. (That is one thing I wish the judges would be more transparent about, though. I mean, a rubric would be so easy to post!)

  • Justine Crowley5 months ago

    Great information on Haiku. I ignored those challenges, because they looked like poetry and fiction pieces. Anyway, Vocal Media seems to have a quirky way of catching us writers by surprise.

  • Gigi Gibson10 months ago

    Dear Sleepy Em, Thank you for such an informative and enjoyable article! I’ve never heard of kigo and kireji even though I’ve written quite a few haikus over the years. I’m going to look them up and learn something new because of you! Thank you so much. 🥰

  • Vivek Sagarabout a year ago

    Wow Impressing! ⭐🤩 It Deserve to be on the Top 👏 Well I'm new on vocal can you please Check out and give some opinion on my story It will be really helpful. 😇 Here is the link:- https://vocal.media/motivation/the-warrior-s-lesson-embracing-fear-to-achieve-greatness

  • Danielle Deutschabout a year ago

    OMG they did a Haiku challenge? I got burnt out on challenges and stopped doing them. Just this week I wrote like 3 haiku's that I thought maybe I could post because I remember loving them in grade school. People might be exhausted of haiku's by now so maybe I just wait to post mine now. Lol

  • Deasun T. Smythabout a year ago

    I agree with you, I've noticed that my haiku has really improved. though I have to admit, I am getting a bit tired of all the haiku.

  • Zohaib Sunesaraabout a year ago

    I am thrilled that composing haikus has enhanced your writing skills! Though I have only written two, I can tell from reading it that it was enjoyable.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Thank you for culling these thoughts that speak for so many of us haiku challenge enthusiasts. I love the way I begin to see the world through the lens of haiku ... finding that aha! moment in bird or cloud or storm.

  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a year ago

    I agree. Never wrote a haiku before the Vocal challenges and I am no poet. Great way to hone writing skills and word choice. Haiku form is beautiful and reflective and a joy to read. Great article and insight. Thanks for sharing. Hope to see a Drabble challenge one day - a story in exactly 100 words.

  • Chua Yuan Hengabout a year ago

    This haiku writing challenges your logic and imagination. Great work.

  • Melanie Tongmarabout a year ago

    I've enjoyed writing haikus for a few years now. There is a real skill in the ability to be sparse with words yet convey something quite considerable. I love that, especially in these times of over-communication!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I do like haikus. They make me consider things, and write more clearly... ;)

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    I joined the Vocal community because of one of those Haiku challenges and I am so grateful for it because I can already see the benefits it has had on my ability to string words together to convey meaning. Thank you for providing the most logical and conceivable explanation. It makes perfect sense!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Excellent article. Spot on!

  • Kerri Brockabout a year ago

    I still do love me a good Dr. Seuss story, and yet turned to Haikus about 5 or so years ago, to help me improve my brevity and conciseness. What a lovely space to stumble upon today. I never know Vocal existed until today!

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Wow this is great! Yes I certainly came to appreciate Haiku better thanks to these challenges. It reminded me of how CS Lewis would write with a dip pen. This meant that every 5-7 words he has to pause and dip his pen. He said he did this on purpose rather than switching to a modern pen because it made him stop and consider deeply what the next word should be! :)

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    'Tis true.:)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I knew this was a Top Story the moment I read it. Congrats.

  • Jobaid-ul Islamabout a year ago

    very nice content

  • Testabout a year ago

    Great article, Em. Very cool outlook indeed. The more we write, the better we become. I haven't contributed to the haiku tidal wave but have read some amazing entries...yours included!

  • VIDHYASAGARabout a year ago

    Good content 🤩🤩

  • Wow, I'm so happy that writing these Haikus have improved your writing! I've only written one so far so I can't say much from my experience. I enjoyed reading this!

  • RPabout a year ago

    Nice...

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Great reasoning! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Noel T. Cumberlandabout a year ago

    Very insightful. Anything we can do to encourage economy of words is going to help our writing. With the exceptions of purposeful stream-of-consciousness writing and absurdist satire, less is almost always more. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and congratulations on getting a Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.