Motivation logo

Reflections on Inspirations and Aspirations

2024

By Cathy holmesPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - January 2024
62
Photo by Kid-Circus on Unsplash

I was planning to title this piece “My Aspiration for 2024 Is to Bug the Living Daylights Outta Vocal Until They Kick Me Off the Platform.”

Why would I consider such a ridiculous title, you may wonder. Well, if you were to see my 2023 reverb, you’d notice that my most popular piece of the year is “Math is Hard”, ahem, a haiku in which I trolled Vocal for not being able to count.

Obviously, it was a joke, as would have been the above-mentioned title, had I chosen it. But that’s not why I’m here, at least not all of it. Truth be told, my most popular (by leaps and bounds) piece last year was “Heaven’s Curtain,” a haiku about mourning and finding peace while looking at the moon. It didn’t make the reverb list because it was actually written in December of 2022.

2023 was a good year for me on Vocal. I won first place in the Blue Haiku challenge for the aforementioned “Heaven’s Curtain.” I also placed second in a fiction challenge, and recently, was awarded a runner up in another poetry challenge. I have had numerous top stories, built a following inside the Vocal community, and reached over 15k reads.

But all of that is just numbers. What I’ve really gained this past year on Vocal is a stronger appreciation of community support and more confidence in my writing overall. Those two go hand in hand.

When I first joined in 2021, I wrestled with every piece I published. I questioned whether they were good enough, whether I was good enough, and whether anyone would see any merit whatsoever in my writing. I like to think that I’ve improved dramatically since then. The numbers I’ve referenced above, while still just numbers, help me to believe in myself more, and to have a greater confidence that, just maybe, my writing does hold some merit after all.

Those who follow me on Vocal, are aware that I do have a goofy sense of humour, and I will continue to showcase that in 2024. I will continue to make light of darkness and make fun of myself and my cat Abigail and yes, I will poke fun at Vocal every chance I get.

I think being able to see the humour in difficult situations can make this crazy thing we call life a little easier to navigate. I intend to remind myself of that in 2024 – in my writing and in my outside world.

Life can be hard. Life can be a complete bitch at times, in fact. Sometimes you’ll think she’s your best friend, and she’ll blindside you with a swift kick in the teeth and smile at you while you’re down. You can choose to cry over your broken incisors, or you can pick them up and try to reconstruct some degree of sanity, and maybe even a tidbit of happiness along the way. And maybe, just maybe, a little humour will help you when you need it most. I intend to find the humour in the darkness and make it a little bit brighter this year. Or at least I aspire to.

*

There once was a silly old Newfie

Twas said was really quite goofy

When she challenged life

To a fifteen-round fight

Her smile was a little less toothy.

*

Sometimes it’s hard to do, I know. Sometimes, life doesn’t simply kick you in the teeth, it runs you over with a steamroller. It leaves you burnt, broken, and dislocated from any sense of positivity. And it’s not funny. Sometimes it hurts, and the words that fall out hurt. They are mournful, dramatic, introspective, or just downright depressing.

Sometimes there’s nothing good to be said and those are the times when you need to say it anyway. I intend to do that as well this year. I will vent, I will purge, I will cleanse. I will do whatever it takes, and I will write what needs to be written to grasp that tiniest sliver of inspiration peering through the enveloping anguish.

*

A warm acceptance

Shines rays of sweet memories

Then storms brew anew

*

I will look for inspiration in all that I see. In the past, I have found it in both the happiest and saddest of moments. I have found inspiration in life events, world events, celebratory events, and I have expressed outrage in social injustice events. I have found inspiration in the simplest of things – like my cat, or the floors that ground me, or a tea kettle, or even a vacuum cleaner.

I have found it in you, fellow Vocalites. I have smiled. I have laughed. I’ve cried and I’ve screamed. I’ve been humoured, shocked, mesmerized and angered while reading your stories. I’ve found a sense of peace and moments of chaos. Mostly though, I have found inspiration; not just in the stories you write, but in the friends you have become.

You challenge me. With the words you write in your stories, you challenge me to aspire to improve my own craft. With the supportive comments you write on my stories, you challenge me to be even more supportive to others and to genuinely appreciate the community we have built.

I want to continue with and to expand on that 2024. There have been numerous challenges, both official and unofficial, that I chose not to enter last year. My reasons varied from “too busy” to “nah, I’m not feeling it” to “that’s too hard,” and everything in between.

I aspire to change that. I want to find the time. I want to make myself feel it. I want to shut “that’s too hard” in the back of a closet, never to be seen again. I want to remind myself that it wouldn’t be called a “challenge” if it was easy, and I want to do it anyway. I’ll never guarantee that I will enter every one I see, because as we all know, sometimes life just gets in the way. I will, however, challenge myself to be more involved than before, and more supportive than I already am. And if all else fails, I’ll just get Abigail to do it.

Good luck in 2024. May all our inspirations fulfill our aspirations and may we all find success in the coming year. Because we deserve it. Because we can do it. But mostly, because……

she’s judging all of us.

Vocalsuccessgoals
62

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (50)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquistabout a month ago

    Congratulations on top story Cathy! 🎉🎉🎉

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    I ask how you thought it. Wow! Congrats 😍

  • Willett2 months ago

    So awesome and perfect 🤩. It has lighten up my day 👏

  • John Cox3 months ago

    I love your writing and your wit. It’s a shame I did not check out your work sooner!

  • Med Karim3 months ago

    nice

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    May your pizza of life over flow with the tidbit of happiness this year. And if possible- the Timbits of joy, too

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    I cannot see you as someone who struggled with not being good enough. Your writing is so fantastic, and I haven't read nearly enough of your profile. I DO know that 15k reads makes a helluva lot of sense; people adore you on Vocal, and for good reason! Your confidence is one of a kind, your supportiveness, creativity and humor. I'm so happy to have the privilege of reading your work, Cathy, and I wish you all the best this year and beyond. ❤️ PS: Abigail is SO cute when she's being intimidating, lol! PPS: What a great limerick!

  • Erez Gerz4 months ago

    Beautiful and deeply affecting!

  • Gina C.4 months ago

    Amazing entry, my friend! I love your humor and wit so much! You are truly an inspiration 🤗

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Always a pleasure to read your stories Cathy. As always you keep it real. Keep on doing you. Congrats.

  • To bug the hell out of Vocal until they kick me off the platform is the best title anyone could come up with. Apologies for not quoting it exactly. YOu have the best sense of humor Cathy it is my favorite thing about your writing

  • Sharika4 months ago

    Way to go! Top story 💕💕well worth the read!

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    This is a wonderful read, and I must say- your humor (and kitty) are iconic on the platform!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Wow!! Reading this gave me a little wave of chills. This is an awesome perspective to have. 💗

  • Yokopi4 months ago

    So Amazing! congratulations!

  • Test4 months ago

    Outstanding! Keep striving for greatness—congratulations!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    back to say Congrats on Top Story, Top Buddy!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Cathy, I love how you use humor to shed light on the truth. Your 2023 haikus were lovely by the way!!!!

  • Kodah4 months ago

    Congrats on top story!💖🎊

  • Melissa Ingoldsby4 months ago

    Very relatable and I always appreciate your very up front approach to life, all the bad and good.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Well done! Those are some huge accomplishments! You deserve to celebrate!

  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    Always love reading your stories Cathy because they never fail to make me smile, or chuckle, or sometimes spit out my coffee and snort-laugh while trying not to choke. Here’s to 2024 🎉

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Abigail. There is an intensity in that gaze that makes me quake. Keep feeding her, Cathy, for your own sake. Excellent insight! Glad that this place has brought you so much. Here's to 2024 and more vocalising!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Back to say congrats

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.