Motivation logo

How to Accommodate People in Life

My personal story from frustration to success with a determined student

By Ameer BibiPublished 2 months ago 5 min read
15
Picture credit to Bing AI by author

Home Tutoring and Education Challenge

I lived in a town with no academy, and most mothers were busy with household chores, so they sent their kids to tuition after school. So they could complete their school homework and prepare for tests. I was giving home tuition to children of different grades, starting from grade 1 and mostly going up to grades 7 and 8.

As I was studying in the 11th grade, it was easy to spare time to teach younger students. But one day, my schoolteacher came to my home with her younger sister, who looked healthy and taller than me. She asked me whether I could help her prepare for the math board examination, as she needed help to pass the board examination in math subjects.

Learning Urgency

Her father permitted her to continue her college-level studies only if she could clear her math examination on the supplementary board. But she has only one chance. My teacher was worried that she might not pass quickly, and she did not have further permission. So, I bring her to you; you are my brilliant student. If she can’t learn the basics of algebra and questions from you, I am afraid she can’t continue her studies.

Casual to Committed

I took all these things very casually, as most parents and elder siblings say such statements to make the minds of students ready for qualification.

However, I understood how determined she was. My teacher’s younger sister started to practice different math concepts under my supervision. I taught her daily about factors, their additions, subtraction, and how to balance equations on both sides.

Picture credit to Bing AI by author

Spotting the Missing Link

She was doing well but skipped one step, and her question needed correcting. I had been fixing it for a week, but she always made the same mistake. One day, I became fed up, as I had to worry about my image in my teacher’s eyes, too. I asked her to do question number 5 from chapter 6, which I still remember. She did all the steps correctly; just one step in the middle made the procedure incorrect.

I asked her to look and listen with complete focus. The last time, you had to divide here, not multiply, okay? She said OKAY. Then, I confirmed with her if she understood what I had taught her. She repeated all the steps and learned quite right.

Then I asked, now there is your test after 30 minutes; go and do the practice. She came back after 30 minutes. I gave her the same question to solve, and to my amazement, she made the same mistake again. I asked her to recheck it; she confidently said it was okay.

A Teacher’s Struggle with Frustration

Suddenly, I got too angry. I was also in the 11th grade and not old enough to understand. I picked up her books, packed them in her bag, and ordered her to go home. I can’t teach you. Please leave right now.

She did not say a word; she just remained standing there. Maybe she was my first student whom I shouted at too much and repeatedly asked, “Please go, please go.

Picture created by author via Bing AI.

Mother’s Intervention: Trying to Ease the Tension

My mother came into the room, tried to calm me, and started to speak in favour of the girl, saying that she is younger, and some children can’t learn math as quickly as they think.

I said so quickly. I have been teaching and repeating the same thing to her for 7 days, and she is not getting it; why she is stuck, I don’t know. So, she can’t study more. I even asked my mother to please ask her to leave the room and our home.

Balancing Anger and Responsibility

The same day, I had a chemistry test at my tuition centre and had to go within 10 minutes. First, I gave some work to other students, and then I went; it was my routine.

They completed their writing work while I returned and checked their work. I was in a hurry and also too angry. While leaving home for the academy, I again ordered that girl: You should not be home when I return. Go and manage some other teacher for you.

She again did not reply and remained silent while keeping her bag. After 45 minutes, I came back; my test went excellent. I was delighted when I entered the home. All the kids started to make noises whenever I came back. Like the teacher, please check my work; I came first, So I must leave early. I engaged with their tests and checked the notebooks.

Second Chances: A Lesson in Patience

After finishing their work, I went inside, and my eyes again popped up with anger because she was sitting inside and doing Maths.

I glared at my mother. She tried to calm me down and convinced me to give her another chance. I wondered how much I had criticized her, yet she did not leave. Rather than being upset, she stayed calm and replied to questions as if nothing had happened.

image created by author via Bing AI

After considering the situation, I said to my mother, “OK.” I’m going to ask her the same question as last time. Meanwhile, she spoke for the first time: thanks a lot, Baji (Sister). I will do my best.

A Surprising Turn: From Frustration to Success

Her reaction surprised me. Taking the notebook, I repeated the instructions. This time, I asked her a different question because she might have memorized the processes rather than understanding the concept.

She arrived to surprise me with a correctly solved question. I instructed her to solve another one randomly, which was more complex than the last. So she did it again, correct?

I was looking at her; what magic she got to solve the question.

She was only asking one question. You’re no longer angry with me. I said not at all. So, you’ll help me finish the remaining curriculum. Naturally, I gave a nod. She was happy, hugging and thanking me several times.

Image created by author via Bing AI

A Determined Student: Choosing Studies Over Comfort

It was almost 8:00 p.m. She usually goes home around 6:00 p.m. but didn’t that day. Her brother arrived to pick her up at the usual time she left, but she was too busy recalculating the data, so she declined.

Her sister and father picked her up from our home late at night. She was excited to leave when her sister asked why you didn’t join her brother. She said, “If I come, I’ll never be able to study again.” I upset my tutor, who refused to teach me. I stayed for another chance, and I got it.

Now I’m going to college and her eyes glitter. Although I had firmly rejected her, she didn’t bother it. I didn’t understand why. Why? After that, I got my answer through time and her nature. She received 75/100 on the annual math board examination. She was the same girl who had appeared twice but failed to pass with 33/100.

Yes, I learnt this lesson from Raheela. She taught me to be patient, forgive others, and give second chances. When we do, people can surprise us with their growth and success.

happinesssuccessself helpgoalsadvice
15

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I love to read, write, and discuss life, health, fiction, and humour. If you write anything related to these topics, subscribe to me and share your story; I would love to read it and share my opinion. You can find me on Medium.

With Thanks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Guzel22 days ago

    You are a wonderful teacher

  • Ainy Abraham2 months ago

    You did a wonderful job. Your efforts made a way to victory.

  • muniba shafiq2 months ago

    You are a fabulous teacher 😍

  • Asad Message2 months ago

    Great work thank you for sharing

  • “M”2 months ago

    Great job, keep going 🫶🏻

  • You did great to give her a second chance and I am glad she did her best and passed the examination this time. I think few people would give chances like this, though. Raheela was lucky to have you as her tutor 🌸

  • I read your story captivated by what came next each time. The message is so clearly expressed also 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.