Motivation logo

Campaign for the Reality of Birds

A Prompt to Resolve a Crisis of Faith

By Rob AngeliPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
26
Campaign for the Reality of Birds
Photo by Akram Huseyn on Unsplash

They say that a bird in the hand is greater than (or equal to) two in the bush; so who am I to argue with proverbial maxims? Nobody should argue with proverbial maxims, because they are all completely true.

The creative side of me is much at home with birds. Poets and writers have sometimes damaged their brains irreparably attempting to memorize every name in the known aviary.

They have inspired writers for millennia with their striking plumage and colors, and the gift of flight that comes with it. These creatures add beauty and splendor into our world.

No, wait. They're absolutely horrifying. Those cold staring eyes, that cruel and lacerating beak. You can see this is a creature that would devour you if it were large enough. Descended from the dinosaurs. If I were a worm, no sparrow would show me mercy.

But wait: I'm the monster. I've eaten hundreds of birds in my life. Chickens ducks geese pheasants turkeys quail. Maybe some others. Peacock is appreciated in medieval cuisine, and the flamingo was a delicacy to the Romans. I've seasoned gleefully (as the house fills with the scent of poultry) their roasting, pan-fried, or boiled flesh with every savory and sweet combo known to man.

Forget love, forget death, forget loss and hardship. Birds ARE the stuff of poetry. Second only to flowers.

I would have thought that the reality of birds was a given. Have I been so deeply deluded all this time by the wicked elite reptilian lizard-people of the 4th dimension?

Because lately, there's been some buzz circulating that the whole bird thing is some kind of big nefarious hoax. What a troubling idea for a writer. Maybe the claim that this is a hoax, is also some kind of nefarious hoax, but who can tell?

Whether all this poundage of plumage is said to be only so much hologram, or if the claim rests on robotic raptors, enough!

For me, I have seen, heard, tasted, and been viciously attacked by our fine feathered friends and fiends, and to doubt THIS reality, is to doubt EVERYTHING.

Therefore, please help me to resolve this gnawing canker that undermines the foundations of my literary world and work.

The rage of the homemade prompt burns bright and strong here on Vocal; thus, in the state of my bewildered crisis of faith, I've decided to launch one of my own, hopefully killing two birds with one stone:

[Drumroll and shrill fanfare of trumpets frightens all the birds away in a flurry, leaving a fog of feathers. First Proof!]

THE CAMPAIGN FOR THE REALITY OF BIRDS!

Take to your quills with all the urgency you can muster, for the stakes are high! Well, I mean there aren't going to be any winners or losers, but the burden of proof rests on us. Let's prove collectively, beyond the shred of a doubt, the absolute physical/spiritual/poetic/prosaic and culinary realities of featherlings. A short poem or piece of micro-fiction is preferred, but I will not impose any specs for length.

Excuse me, but I like to call them featherlings at times.

Birds in the sky, birds in the nest. Big birds, little birds. Birds in the oven and birds in the belly. Vultures sated on carrion. Sky's the limit.

The goal is to aim for excellence.

Please leave me a link to your proof in the comments, and I will embed it in this story. Let's see what we come up with!

Campaign for the Reality of Birds. Take to your plumes for our feathered friends and fiends alike, fit for the most lofty skies as well as the hottest of ovens.

My Contribution:

Zara Blume's Haiku:

Dana Crandell's raptor romance:

Gerard DiLeo's evolutionary free verse:

By Call Me Les, to all birdlovers:

Leslie Writes' real-life encounter with a hawk:

self helphealinghappinessadvice
26

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley7 months ago

    Nice article. Some birds are annoying, while there are meanings to other birds. For example, magpies signify protection. Well done on top story.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Lol, I love this. I definitely think birds are real. I'm solid on that. Conspiracy theories are not something I shy away from, and many I do believe, but NOT this one, lol. Perhaps some are fake, perhaps some bugs are spies. The majority? Nah. I will think on this. I have featured a hawk before but I don't think that counts.

  • your challenge is lovely- birds of a feather should flock together-- bird brains are more than they seem!! hope i get a chance to write and contribute.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    What a cool idea, but I disagree - birds are more poetic than flowers!

  • Leslie Writes7 months ago

    Thank you for writing about this! I recently heard of this conspiracy. I thought it was a joke! Then I remembered that there folks from our time that believe the earth is flat! Human stupidity knows no bounds. I wrote this story a while ago, but it is about a real life encounter I had with a hawk. https://vocal.media/confessions/hawk-out

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    I love how quickly the perspective of this one changed from the inspiration birds bring to how creepy they!! (I personally am not a fan of birds). This is such a great call to action to write something about birds but I am afraid the only inspiration they give me is their flavour!! 😋

  • Test7 months ago

    "Forget love, forget death, forget loss and hardship. Birds ARE the stuff of poetry. Second only to flowers" Feel butterflys may have a few chpoce words on this matter! A really interesting read and great prompt! And super congratulations on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Intriguing! I'll have to dust off some brain cells. I do have an old one I'll post for now: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-first-time-9p2ax0yfh

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    Congratulations Rob! 🎉

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    I'm on it!

  • Oooo, that's a cool prompt! I'll see if Mr Brain comes up with anything!

  • Test7 months ago

    Awesome ✨

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Hee hee. This is great. Hmmm let me give it some thought.

  • I salute you. This is unique. May it be an enjoyable success!

  • Zara Blume7 months ago

    Hope I did this right https://vocal.media/poets/flying-solo-1y6v0gss Off to read your pigeon story

  • Great prompt , left mine in VSS

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    I loved the different changes of mood in this piece. It speaks much truth then dives right into your roll as a monster 😅. I hope to help with the gnawing cankering that haunts you! I graciously accept your challenge.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    This was really well done. Never think I eat birds and never care to acknowledge that

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    This one is going to require some thought 🤔 Proof about birds you say? Hmm… Long and thinkly thoughts indeed I really liked your style in this piece and look forward to what comes out of this challenge :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.