Men logo

The Surprise Gift

A Journey of Hope and Discovery"

By Sonia khan Published 12 months ago โ€ข 3 min read
Like
The Surprise Gift
Photo by Wijdan Mq on Unsplash

Where Have All The Big Fish ๐Ÿ  Gone?"

I glanced to my right and asked:

"Who emptied the lake?"

"The government," my Dad replied.

He looked at me and continued...

"They're going to build a hospital ๐Ÿฅ."

Confused, I questioned, "Why would they kill the fish and mermaids ๐Ÿงœโ€โ™€๏ธ just to build a hospital?"

"People in this small town need more help, and the hospital would provide an extra place for those who are suffering and in pain, helping them to recover better," my Dad explained.

"Okay, but who will take care of the fish? I remember when I was here last year... Mom and I saw a mermaid or a really big fish..."

"Dad, I wish I could keep them all. Maybe we could build a lake..." I let go of his hand and ran downhill next to the dried-up lake.

"Okay, Son, let's not get carried away..."

"But, Dad, you said I could do anything if I put my mind to it... so let's build a lake!"

"Well, Son, you're only 10 years old now, so let's see if you still feel the same when you're 33."

"Okay, Dad. So how about we boycott the hospital, and maybe they'll return the lake?"

"You really loved that lake, huh?" my Dad pondered.

"Yes, Dad," I said.

"The hospital charges too much money to help people. Why don't they help people for free? Why is the government so mean?"

"They're not mean, Son. Everyone has to earn a living, so they're just thinking about business," my Dad explained.

"I understand, Dad."

"Son, everyone has a journey. They will travel in life, but remember that good comes with every bad..."

"We mustn't judge or compare our journey to any man or higher power."

"Okay, Dad. So when I'm older, would you really help me build a lake?"

"Yes, Son. I would be wiser and definitely equipped with the tools I needโ€”mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually!"

"Dad, what does that mean?"

"It means I'll pray and believe while working towards the goal. Then, the higher power will deliver."

"Wow, just like that?"

"No, Son. It's an agreement to let the higher powers be in charge. Although you want a lake with an abundance of fish, the higher powers might want you to have just a house with amazing landscaping and a great pool in the backyard, along with a big fish tank inside your house."

"Well, Dad, I think we better get home so that I can start praying right away!"

On my 33rd birthday ๐Ÿฅณ

I remembered every year on my birthday ๐ŸŽ‰ what my Dad had declared to me the day before the government took the park away. Now, I'm excited to see what my gift this year would be.

"Son, happy birthday ๐ŸŽ‚๐ŸŽŠ! I saved the best gift ๐ŸŽ for last."

"Okay, that's cool ๐Ÿ˜Ž. Mom says you've been doing a great job with your secret project, Dad. I wonder what you were doing?"

He looked up at me and said, "Okay, cool. I'm just going to go get my blindfolds."

Mom looked clueless ๐Ÿ•ต๏ธโ€โ™€๏ธ about what to do and stood there waiting as Dad handed over the car keys ๐Ÿ”‘ and blindfolded me.

"Honey, I'm outside in the car ๐Ÿš˜..." Moments later, I heard Mom's voice echoing through the phone ๐Ÿ“ฑ.

The drive was smooth and enjoyable ๐ŸŒ…, taking 30 minutes โฑ. I felt flutter

EmpowermentMen's PerspectivesFatherhood
Like

About the Creator

Sonia khan

As a story writer, I am passionate about crafting compelling narratives that transport readers to new and exciting worlds. With a keen eye for detail and a vivid imagination,, I am driven by a deep love for storytelling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.