Men logo

Open letter to a famous podcaster…

…With an accompanying addendum.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
Like
P/c (photo credit): The completely free stock photo site/app, Pixabay; via the content creator rafiq23. Please show them and him some Love. Much appreciated in advance. Blessings.

6MAY2024; 0725, MON– Maryland, USA

Blessed rising; one and all, unless you are a Biden. I jest; kind of sort of, but not really.

In all seriousness, this piece is a bittersweet missive; with a few mandatory caveats. First, I’m very relieved that this letter didn’t reach its intended recipient in its original form.

Secondly, I am grateful that I have the wherewithal to see the undeniable value of potentially collaborating with the household name of a young man that I wrote this now open letter to. That’s, “All facts; no printer.”

And third, the following paragraphs are relatively unedited; though, with an addendum attached, after the original written work. Without further ado; and here’s to you, the reader–

19FEB2024; 0930, MON– MD, USA

Peace and blessings, Mr. Glenn Beck. Praying that you and yours are well and whatnot; all matters considered.

I am writing to you in hopes that you will prayerfully think about considering my brand new, first book; "Wartime Snapshots: Unseen Views of OIF (Operation Iraqi Freedom)", for a featured spot of some sort on your renowned show.

My Lovely Lady is nine months along with my third daughter; and I would very much like to use some of my war photography from my time Over There to help provide. That is in addition to using it to assist in aiding my direly ailing Brothers and Sisters in Arms.

Heroes and National Treasures, who are in fact, and regrettably plagued with the odiousness that is homelessness; addiction; estrangement; as well as suicide epidemics. This is just from one Girl Dad and red-blooded American to another.

Also, I pray to be able to meet you in person before too much more time passes through either of our “hour glasses.” Regardless, and, “either which way"; as the colloquialism goes, please continue to, "Stay blessed; Free; and dangerous!"

Sincerely,

D. [Redacted]; SGT., U.S. Army (Ret.)

***

Addendum–

One question, Mr. Beck: “Is this your king?”- Erik “Killmonger” Stevens (Black Panther [‘18]). That iconic line from an all around epic movie franchise is ringing in my head right about now when I look around at the American “leadership.”

We can begin roughly in the vicinity of the viral X/Twitter video of the president of the United States inadvertently and evidently crapping himself (satirically animated to include actual excrement). Then, take a quick pit stop right around the Economic Adviser scenic overlook.

All before we end up in a hand basket; altogether inquiring about where we’re going, and why it seems like the temp is steadily increasing exponentially. All seriousness: Presidential economic adviser who can’t even explain basic economics?

What in the actual Sammy Davis Jr. is going on here, my kind Sir? I have little to no doubt that you have similar questions right this very moment; if not even much more poignant answers than I can hope to offer.

I hope and pray that your viewership and/or listenership recognizes the invaluable contribution you and your network make in attempting to right these wrongs of grossly unqualified individuals leading this once great nation. Because, in short: unfathomable incompetence is a detrimental understatement; at best.

I’m really and truly not entirely sure how much more Lady Liberty can withstand; for the sake of sounding ignorant. I said all of that to lead into my shameless plug of sorts: I’m confident that my memoir/personal war photography book can essentially be an x-factor of an arrow in your quiver; so to speak.

And I will be the very first to admit that I can quite feasibly be “just a smidge” biased; in this particular regard. Conversely, and as candidly as I may: Who can blame me?

Health; Freedom; and prosperity to you and yours, Bossman. As well as for me and mine; our beloved America in general; and by extension, the world at large.

*Renders salute*.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its footer menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very main menu; cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the aforementioned link in bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

Peace; blessings; and much Love, even. *Salute*.

***

****

InspirationMen's PerspectivesManhoodIssuesGeneralFatherhoodCultureBrotherhood
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.