Lifehack logo

Life Hacks

Which ones sink and which ones swim?

By A.K. MontesPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Mikael Cho on Unsplash

You cannot go to YouTube or Pinterest without seeing the tagline "Life Hack for (fill in the blank) …" with promises to make whatever easier. I don't know if I should blame YouTube or Pinterest for these posts, but either way, I have become obsessed with testing life hacks. So, I figured I would share with you the ones that I have tested and tell you which ones fly and which ones fail.

Life Hack #1 - Swim

Living in Florida, you are going to have deal with bugs. I'm sorry to break this to anyone who hates bugs and wants to move to the sunshine state but it’s a way of life. And the most annoying of them all (in my opinion) is the fruit fly. As the name suggests, they are attracted to fruit and will not leave...like ever. You can get rid of the fruit by hanging up those aesthetically pleasing fly strips, but those little jerks just fly around them. I was so excited by the success of this hack that I find myself grabbing a bottle of apple cider vinegar whenever I am stocking up on fresh fruit and veggies.

Life Hack #2 - Sink

This has to be the biggest load of crap on the life hack circuit and I want to know who this actually works for. I don't paint my nails often because of the amount of housework I do, however, in the event of a special occasion, I'll paint my nails just to pull a look together. This hack suggests keeping your nails submerged for three minutes to dry your nails all the way. I soaked them for ten. Yes, it did get any nail polish off my skin, but completely drying them? NO! I even used this trick with a fresh bottle of nail polish to give the trick an honest try but I ended up with creasing and peeling. Just stick with letting your nails dry the good old fashion way, time and patience.

Life Hack #3 - Swim

Holy cow, I was pleasantly surprised by this hack that I shared it with anyone who would listen to me. Mom, brother, random stranger in the checkout lane at the grocery store. I have a tendency to burn the candle at both ends for about 97 percent of my waking hours. Most of the time, a good night's sleep can solve the stresses of my day to day life. Every now and then, the stress will fester and I will crack. Not in a psychotic way, but in one of those "I just don't want to get out of bed" type of way. I have quite a few meditation apps loaded on my phone but this is good when you need a break from the usual. I highly recommend it.

Life Hack #4 - Sank like the Titanic

Once again, I want to meet the person or persons who came up with this so-called hack. I recently made the decision to embark on a vegan lifestyle due to health reasons so in doing my research, I've tested out a lot of vegan recipes to see if I could handle going from carnivore to herbivore. This was one of the few recipes that made me hate cauliflower for the rest of my life. I was never a big fan of it before but this just sealed the deal for me. This just made me sick to my stomach and NO IT DOESN'T TASTE LIKE CHICKEN. Steer clear of this hack, because it made me yak. (HaHa).

And on a side note, I will begin journaling my vegan journey after the first of the year, so stay tuned if you are interested.

Well, there you have it. Four life hacks that I have tested and tested again just to make sure that I wasn't messing them up because of my natural "airheadedness." If there are any life hacks that you have tried, please leave a comment down below and maybe you'll save someone some time.

how to
1

About the Creator

A.K. Montes

Well, hello there. I'm A.K. and I'm better known as the southern belle with a potty mouth. Blogging is a passion of mine and I look forward to what it has in store for me in the future.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.