Journal logo

My Asian wife’s pride in being Canadian was scarred during the Pandemic

And so was mine

By Gerald HolmesPublished 11 months ago 8 min read
Top Story - July 2023
47
Free pic from Canva

I’m a white man that was lucky enough to be born Canadian.

I do not use the word “lucky” lightly as being born into a country that is known throughout the world as a place of freedom and refuge is truly like winning the lottery.

There are much worse places and circumstances on this planet that children are born into every day. Places where children are born as war and cruelty rage around them. Places where a child’s gender or the colour of their skin will dictate their place in that society or even their worth as a person.

Yes I was lucky; Lucky that I have never experienced the ravages of war or the sting of racism in my life. Being born into a multicultural society I have never felt less than or more than my neighbours or fellow Canadians. I am not saying I have never seen racism, unkindness or cruelty in my life because I have. It just seemed that in my younger formative years these things were so far from the norm that they didn’t stick to me as they do today. Today things feel different.

Growing up on the east coast of Canada with the Atlantic Ocean as my backyard these dark parts of society were never, or very rarely, a part of my life. Yes, the vast majority of us looked like me but there were also lots of us that looked different or practiced a different religion than me. Some of us were Black or Asian or East Indian or Native but none of that mattered. To us we were just us. We were a group of kids growing up together that had more in common than not. The things we shared far outweighed what we didn’t, such as we were all free to pursue our dreams and none of us were financially wealthy.

To this day, over forty years later, I’m still in contact with several people from those early adult days.

My view of the world and my place in it started to change when I left my small town and moved to Canada’s biggest city, Toronto, in the late 1970’s. Those early days in Toronto were both an exciting and eye opening time for me.

It was the end of summer, 1977, when I boarded that plane in my small town on the east coast of Canada and three hours later debarked into a new world.

I remember, as clearly as if it were yesterday, my feelings of awe and wonder as I walked through that airport. It looked as if every nation on earth were represented in the faces of the throngs of people scurrying this way and that way, rushing to make their flights or jump into the arms of loved ones.

As I walked from the arrivals area to the departure area, where I would be picked up, I witnessed many things that have stuck to me and are still with me to this day.

As I waited to be picked up I saw a young Black man hugging a middle-aged Black couple while not five feet from them a young Asian woman cried as she hugged a middle-aged Asian couple. It was clear to me that the younger people were saying goodbye to their respective parents, who would be boarding their flights soon.

I remember thinking that regardless of our differences, no matter what they may be, we are all the same. Be it our skin colour, ethnic background, body shape, age, gender, religious beliefs, education, immigrant status or sexual persuasion, we are all the same. We all feel the base emotions that make us human.

We all laugh, cry, worry, grieve and above all else, Love.

I smiled as I watched the parents hug their children and then each other’s child before walking through screening as the young couple held each other tight and waved goodbye to their parents.

More than forty years have passed since that day but I can still see the faces of that young couple in my mind. That is how strong an impact that moment has had on my life.

****

But then the pandemic hit and I watched as society tumbled into something completely different.

The flames of fear, anger and ignorance reared its ugly head, fanned by social media and the stupidity of some world leaders. Leaders that at some times refused to listen to the advice of their own experts.

Quickly, these flames spread through society, much like the virus we were fighting, and took on a life of its own.

Blame and finger pointing seemed to become more important, too many, than actually doing the things, put forward by our medical experts, that would eventually stop the pandemic.

This type of finger pointing, when cast upon the backs of a single race, will always lead to the worst possible outcome–an outcome that has been proven time and again through human history.

It creates a virus unique to human society which is much harder and takes much longer to stop than corona-virus– Racism!

Imagine being verbally assaulted, in the worst possible way, just because you carry your families’ heritage on your face. I have never been attacked in this way, probably because I am a white male, but I am sure that there will be some among you that have.

My wife, who was born in China, moved to Canada to be with me over nineteen years ago.

Early in those years she became a Canadian and I remember that day as if it was yesterday. The joy and pride on her face, as she took that oath, will forever be etched in my memories.

But that pride, the pride of becoming a Canadian, was forever scarred by her experiences during the pandemic.

You see, my wife is a PSW (personnel support worker) working at a long term care home, taking care of the elderly. She has a warm heart and caring personality and feels things deeply. I can’t count how many times, over the years; I have found her in tears over losing a client that she had become attached to.

During the height of the pandemic I watched her every work morning as she dressed in her scrubs before tying a, freshly washed, bandanna in her hair and doing an at home virus test with fear in her eyes.

I remember asking her one morning, “Why do you keep doing this? I can see the fear you feel. Why don’t you just take some time off?”

She answered, “I can’t do that. We’re already short staffed. Three of my friends are off because the virus is in their home. Who will take care of the residents if we don’t?”

That statement should tell you who my wife and the vast majority of people that work in these homes are. They are, without a doubt, some of the most caring people I have met.

So it breaks my heart to relay to you now a few of the things, brought on by ignorance, which my wife and her friends have endured during the pandemic.

The first happened early on in the outbreak, when my wife stopped at the supermarket on her way home from work. She was standing in the produce section trying to select vegetables, wearing her scrubs and mask, when a young white man approached her and removed his mask before yelling at her– telling her to go back to her own country.

She was shocked and scared and tried backing away from him but he just kept yelling as he followed her. Luckily another white man stepped in and defended her before walking her to her car.

She wouldn’t go shopping for months after that without me by her side.

Several months passed and she started to feel safe again so began shopping on her own again. A couple of weeks went by with no problems until the day she called me at work, sounding panicked.

Some guy had walked up to her in the parking lot as she got out of her car and started calling her names– names I won’t give voice to here. Terrified, she ran to the store as he yelled at her while people passing by yelled at him. She said that when she got to the store, she turned back to see him kicking her car as he screamed obscenities in her direction.

My shop was less than five minutes from the store, so I told her to stay where she was as I was on my way and wanted her to point out this idiot to me. When I arrived and got her in the car, I drove around the whole area looking for this guy, with anger oozing from every pour in my body.

Luckily, we didn’t find him.

These events are just two of the worst times that this sort of thing happened but there were others, not as bad but just as scarring to my wife.

None of this is unique to my wife.

Several of her Asian co-workers have the same type of stories to tell. Even though none of them were physically assaulted, they all remember those attacks as if they were. I know in my heart that, maybe for a long time, they will all walk with a little fear in their hearts because of these memories.

These memories, that I spoke of above, have hurt me deeply but not as deeply as the one I am about to tell.

This time there was no assault, verbal or physical, but just the thoughts and fears in my wife’s words.

It was close to the end of the pandemic, when the Government announced that home test kits would now be available for free at several places, including pharmacies’, doctor’s offices and supermarkets.

As my wife is a PSW, she needed to do the test every couple of days.

I was surprised when she came home from work one day and asked me to go to the market and pick up some test kits. She would have driven right past the market on the way home, so I asked her why she didn’t stop on her way.

Her answer hurt me in ways she may never know.

With a lump in her throat and tears in her eyes, she said,

“Please, can you just do it for me? I don’t want to go there. I don’t want people saying the dirty Chinese are taking all the test kits.”

Like I said before, her words on that day hurt me more than anything else that had happened during that time.

I knew at that moment, as I stared into the eyes of this beautiful caring woman– this woman that carried my heart in her hands– that she had been forever changed by this virus.

And by virus, I don’t mean Corona-Virus but the other virus I spoke of– Racism!

So, in closing, please think before you speak in anger. Please think about the ones you love before spreading this virus of hatred. Remember that your words have consequences and will live on long after they are spoken– maybe even long after your attitude and outlook have changed.

humanitymarriagehumanity
47

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story😉💯👌💖🎉👍❤️😎✨

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    My heart goes out to you both. So many of us have been hurt by racism. It's so ugly an unfair! Beautiful story, and I will keep you both in my prayers.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I have been through some of it myself. i worked in similar circumstances right through the Pandemic. You never forget it . I remember how bad it got for the Asian community. Hugs to you and your family. We pray for change and a wake up call for the masses.

  • Call Me Les11 months ago

    Brought me to tears reading that last bit at the end, especially about the kits. What a wonderfully selfless human being to have kept going to work even though people came at her with hate. She's a blessing to us all.

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    This is so heartfelt. Thanks for sharing and congratulations!

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this experience. It couldn’t have been easy to write, but an important message we all need to think about . I’m so sorry for what your wife endured.

  • Scott Christenson11 months ago

    It must have been really hard for your wife at the retirement home during the pandemic. And thanks for speaking out against the last few years epidemic of social media fueled racism. Its always directed at individuals that have absolutely no connection to the topics that caused it. Someone with a grudge...in the 90s their friends would tell them to forget about it, now they have hundreds of people on Facebook telling them they are right. worrying. China. Economically, things have certainly changed with the vast increase in wealth and the standard of living, especially in the urban areas.. I live as an expat in hong kong, and across the border in china, all the families have Japanese style cars and the shopping malls are packed with people at new trendy restaurants. When I first visited in the 90s everyone was riding bicycles. Emigration is now considered more as a basket of positives and negatives, rather than the golden brick road it was viewed as decades ago. I wrote a story a few months ago about taking the train in china in 1995: Maybe i'll repost to Vocal. https://blog.reedsy.com/short-story/2owu4j/

  • Doc Sherwood11 months ago

    I lived for ten years in Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, where I understand a good many of Toronto's Chinese community have their roots. My friend Ted, for example, is originally from Trenton, and his wife Lucy was a Canadian citizen with family in Harbin. Living there it was just lovely to occasionally hear little snippets of Canadian speech which had made their way back to China via this mini-diaspora. A waiter at the Korean chicken and beer restaurant, for example, when dealing with English-speaking customers always used the Canadian "That'll be," as in "That'll be 48 RMB" or "That'll be 98 RMB." At another restaurant nearby worked a young man who seemed to speak only Chinese, but whenever I thanked him for his service, he'd growl to me in reply: "Ferget about it!" I was devastated when the outbreak appeared to end this era of free and flourishing cultural exchange, and am now deeply saddened by your article, Gerald, to learn in addition that racism reared its repellent head during that time. This seems to me the dark side of the courage, patience and capacity for mutual support which COVID also brought out in many of us, especially those of your wife's profession. Your closing words are a far more eloquent appeal to our humanity than I could ever make, but I'd also like to add just a small note of hope all my own, that the Toronto-Heilongjiang community might one day return to those integrated and tolerant terms which I came to love in my decade in China, and which made that country my second home.

  • Linda Rivenbark11 months ago

    Your story breaks my heart,too, as it does yours. I have worked as a caregiver and CNA in a nursing home, and I know the bonds are strong between the patients and the residents. Seeing someone with such a loving heart being harassed and tormented by uncaring people who are too ignorant to know what they are doing is so hard. I hope the younger generation will find a way to.move beyond this kind of misguided behavior.

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    The gall of some people infuriates me. It costs absolutely nothing to be kind. I am not always the most patient person, but I do make an effort to be nice. Thank you for sharing your beautifully written article. And thank your wife for her dedication to her job, she would not sit out, because she knew she was needed by the most vulnerable. I am truly sorry she had that encounter with that rabid person.

  • I am glad you shared this and took the time to write it thoughtfully, even if it was difficult. It's horrible that these things happen, and people will just go on doing them. But just maybe, when someone comes across a thoughtfully written piece like this, it can potentially change some minds. Make people stop and think. I too, haven't witnessed racism directly towards me, but have also indirectly seen it happen to others. Nothing to the extent of what you described I don't think. And I think your approach is very healthy, to express your thoughts and your heartbreak, again probably painful, but really important. Who knows? Maybe you can help make things better even if only by a little bit. Thank you for writing this!

  • Warren11 months ago

    Our daughter is in Saskatchewan (RN too) now. My wife grew up as a child during the Marcos years and Marshall law. When will it end, I pray..🙏I warned my daughter about this. Humanity, being human, for good or bad is life. Only humans do this is really the sad part of ALL this, racism included! 🤔🥹

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Gerald, I saw this in my notifications, but waited to read it until I could really sit down and process it. I knew from the title that it would be a serious story. I want to tell you that you are an amazing writer—because you write with empathy. That’s something every writer must possess to be a true storyteller, and not just someone obeying the conventions of their language. Even though you are a white man, you made each and every one of us readers feel your wife’s pain as if it were our own. I have no doubt your wife is as empathetic and amazing as you describe her, but you are too. That’s how your marriage has lasted. You’re a match on levels of empathy. What you shared here is magical. Anyone can get on a soapbox and say racism is bad. Many, many people get on social media to do just that, every day—and it doesn’t improve a damn thing. Neither do protests, or slogans. You could’ve just bashed racist people in this story, and told us what we know, racism sucks. But you put us there, in your wife’s shoes. Thank you.

  • Melissa in the Blue11 months ago

    Hi Gerald, remember me? Absolutely amazing piece, as always!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Congrats on the TS. .

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Yeah, buddy! Congratulations!

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    Goodness me. This has brought tears. So terribly sad... so much, I feel anger brewing. Well done for writing this. ❤️❤️❤️

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    My heart aches for you and your wife. And to think that you relived this *again* in order to document and share it is amazing and sad. Thank you for the calm way (yes- it was calm) you explained what she/you both went/go through in order to shine a light on racism. Racism with the light on it will, eventually, shrivel. You played a big part in that with this story.

  • Test11 months ago

    This is heart breaking. Fear brings out the worst in people sometimes... even in people who are generally good by nature. We need to carry kindness in our hearts... and breathe just a moment before speaking if it is not kindness we plan to speak. 💙 Anneliese.. And congrats on your Top Story 💋

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Gerald, my heart broke when I read this story. Your wife sounds like a complete gem, a beautifully empathetic and self sacrificial human– she is a wonderful person for continuing to serve her clients in such a loving way, and for showing up for them. I’m so very sorry for all that she had to endure! I cannot understand the cruelty of others, but hope that at some point we see a shift in behavior. Lots of love to her and to you!

  • Rachel Deeming11 months ago

    Gerald, I found your piece deeply moving and upsetting. Your wife sounds remarkable in the duty that she showed to others in a time of crisis. It is a shame that a few ignorant people choose to attack on appearance rather than knowledge. I, too, am Canadian and like the inclusive nature of my adopted country but I am exasperated by encounters like this. Well done for highlighting it and I hope your wife finds her courage again. And thank goodness for those Canadians who defended her. Her focus should be on that. Great article.

  • tanvir Ali11 months ago

    you have depicted true picture of life,.Great.

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    Thanks for sharing and for being a great human Gerald ❤️ Love to your wife

  • Test11 months ago

    Sincere love to both of you.

  • Thank you for sharing this with us, Gerald. I know it had to be hard & my heart goes out to you for all you & your wife have had to endure. May you find peace & healing in knowing that you are not alone. It's just that the ignorant & hateful tend to be louder & more aggressive

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.