Journal logo

"BEACH BIRDS OF THE SOUTH GULF COAST TEXAS"

"MY FEATHERED ANGELS WHEN I LIVED ON THE BEACH"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 14 days ago 3 min read
9
ALL PHOTOS BY AUTHOR

BEACH BIRDS GULF COAST TEXAS

MY FEATHER ANGELS WHEN I LIVED ON THE BEACH

It has been 8 years since I moved back to California in the summer of 2016. I lived in the Rockport-Fulton area just north of Corpus Christi, Texas. I used to walk to the beach to talk to my bird friends and put my toes in the sand and the warm gulf ocean water. My late friend Gloria and I had photo meetups to shoot the beautiful birds and scenery of the Texas gulf coast. Other times I would go out alone taking my parakeets to visit the seagulls on the beach or go out to North Beach in Corpus with my ex over there. However, I am a 'CITY OF THE ANGELS' WOMAN.

I see you my beautiful birds.

PHOTO BY AUTHOR VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

As you fly over my head and in your herd

With your flock as you make

Your sounds to calm the visitors as they

Take photos,

Drink at the cantinas on the beach in the fishing village.

I step up onto the pier with my pink flip flops,

Walking to the end of the pier

Thinking omg it is so hot here.

The birds fly beside me as if to say I got your back my friend.

Til the end.

PHOTO BY VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

Yes, the sunrises were so beautiful over the bay

In the early morning hours of the day

PHOTO BY VICKI LAWANA

The sunsets were breath taking as I looked out upon the ocean to see

What more I could to enhance photos to be

More beautiful than I could see.

PHOTO BY VICKI LAWANA

But to my amazement the colors of the bay

Everyday

The birds in flight

Made each day into a bright light.

PHOTO BY VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

So, you see

I must share with you

To see

The feather babies that were mine

So, kind

As I walked the beaches on the bay

Of the fishing village

PHOTO BY AUTHOR

To meet the shrimp boats every other day

As I would buy the jumbo shrimp off the boats

For 70 per cent discount off the regular price

I was so enticed

With the taste of the jumbo shrimp

Fresh off the boat

To keep it afloat

PHOTO BY AUTHOR

With my money to pay

As the birds flew above my head as I walked into the fish shop

I walked out with a bag full of shrimp ready to clean and cook

On the grill or frying pan while I read my book

I had my ex clean and cook,

Because he thought he was the best chef in the hood.

The next day I walked to the beach to see my feathered friends.

As I am standing on the beach,

The seagulls create a circle around my body,

As I look out in the bay with the wind

In my face.

PHOTO BY AUTHOR VICKI

I sit down in the center of my circle of feathered friends.

I sigh.

I cry.

I laugh.

HEY GUYS HERE'S THE

Do they just want my food?

It is all good

The last time I walked onto the beach of the bay

Was June 16, 2016

No more to say hello to my friends,

“Birds of a Feather Flock Together”

But my memories of my feathered friends

The beautiful sunrises and sunsets

As I ride the bus around the bend

To Austin to Amtrak to move forward

Begin again,

Back to my homeland LA

“The City of Angels”

So, they say.

I kiss the ground

As I step off the train

In LA city of lots of sounds

Of cars, bars, freeways, and trains.

I am glad to be home in my hood.

To blame

My ex for having a new young girlfriend.

So, my fond memory of my feathered friends

Were my angels on the south Texas gulf bays.

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

MAY 4, 2024

AN OLE’ SOUL OF THE UNIVERSE

LA WOMAN OF SORTS’

photographyart
9

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk4 days ago

    Beautiful and healing memoir....I could hear the birds and feel the warmth of the Texas coastal breeze

  • Wow this is awesome and the photos are beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.