Journal logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Accepting a Victim Mentality

Journal

By Marysol RamosPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
5
Picture by Ideogram

Accepting Yourself as a Victim

I get a lot of confused facial expressions when I tell people to accept their victim mentality. Having a victim mentality is seen as such a weakness and hindrance that no-one wants to take on the label.

“Stop using the victim card.”

“Victim mentality is an excuse.”

“You’re not a victim, get up and fight.”

“Accepting yourself as a victim is defeat.”

Words like THAT are what caused the weakness and hindrance in my case.

Victim Mentality is not to be used as an excuse, but as a reason (self-awareness is key.)

I dealt with a desire for suicide, genuine social anxiety, and constant (1-3x per week) migraines for years.

My first suicidal thought (that I can remember) came about when I was around 12-13 years old. Social anxiety grew after high school (I dealt with enough untreated trauma to cause intense anxiety) and the migraines began when I was 19 years old (today, I am 33 years old.)

A few years ago, I accepted myself as a victim to life.

I had a difficult time being dependable at work because of my 3 burdens. I had a difficult time making friends and keeping any that I did manage to make. Being a mother was difficult as well (she is definitely my saving grace.) I had no time for studies, socializing, and building any type of life for myself.

I was constantly fighting 1, 2 or all 3 of my burdens.

Acceptance. What I needed was acceptance of all types.

Accepting that I was a victim. Accepting that I needed help. Accepting that I couldn’t succeed unless I accepted making a change along with accepting the process of this change.

I accepted that I had not been able to succeed in life because of the burdens. I accepted that I wasn’t the problem, life was a problem. I accepted that others couldn’t judge me (though many thought they could) and therefore their words and opinions were nothing to me.

That was when life began to change.

4 years. 4 years of acceptance caused a major change in my life.

It’s been 2 years since I last really considered suicide (though I experience short moments here and there.)

It’s been 2 years since I lost control of any type of anxiety (it happens, but I’ve learned to manage.)

And it’s been 2 years of reduced migraines (1-2 every few months.)

I have been a better mother, a better employee, a better friend (still working on improving this,) and better at accomplishing things in life overall.

I’m at a point where I am no longer a victim.

I am available to help others who are (reach out any time: [email protected] : subject : Victim Mentality)

I am available to succeed and no longer be hindered by these burdens.

I am available to put my efforts into regular life goals and achievements instead of the ones I had before.

Past goals:

o Not going through with suicide

o Taking a shower and brushing my teeth

o Making sure my daughter eats and gets 15 minutes of my attention

o Let her skip school AGAIN to stay with me so that I don’t kill myself.

o Don’t lash at something simple such as dropping a fork

o Getting out of bed and surviving the day

o Talk to more than 1 person today

o Don’t cancel the appointments with doctors/therapist – push through

o Take medications

o Eat something – anything

o Don’t harm yourself – especially out of anger or self-hatred

o Say something nice to yourself or about life. At least one thing.

o Migraine care – migraine care – migraine care

o Find something to laugh about – so you can experience a different emotion

o Try to not call out of work for 1 full week

o The list could go on…

New Goals

o LIVE – Experience – Enjoy

o Never forget my victim experience

o Always be there for any victims of life

*I am not a professional therapist of any sort. I am someone who has a great deal of experience with suicidal thoughts and efforts, depression, high anxiety, and migraines. I am a friend, I am non-judgmental, and I have a love for humanity. Life is tough, but we are tougher — especially when together.

humanityCONTENT WARNINGadvice
5

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! It’s amazing how we have no idea what other people go through that makes our own problems seem so petty. This is really eye opening and admirable of you to share. I love happy endings/new beginnings to true stories like this. And you offering help to others boosts the value of this article even higher. Thank you so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.