Interview logo

A Life's Meaning

Are you happy with what you think you know?

By DR RawsonPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like
Still from a series of discussions led by Phyllis Hayes. Video is below.

This morning, April 6th, I was introduced to another classic (style) and new video from Phyllis Hayes, an Indie Producer and Media talent. While she's interviewed many people, I think you'll agree there are interviews and then those interviews that give you pause.

Your Life's Meaning

When I was in my thirties, I had an epiphany about life, particularly my role. I'm the father of six, grandfather of fifteen, and great-grandfather to seven children.

I was so busy putting food on the table and living a life that I completely forgot what it meant to be me. Strangely, in addition to owning a company, I was a minister then. I could see other people's issues and their life purpose, but I had never given any thought to my own. The only thing I could do was cut back on my involvement, everwhere but in the lives of my family.

In so doing, I was able to step back and see ME, DR Rawson, what I wanted for myself. From there, the meaning of my life became crystal clear. Please don't think everything was fine. Changes had to be made, and I needed a "key" that would keep me on track.

Enough about my journey.

Let's Talk About You

Do you just exist? Do you have a purpose for you? Regardless of where you are in the process, your age, I'm 77; you can learn or perhaps rethink with purpose, "Meaning For You."

I now want to introduce the video produced by Ms. Phyllis Hayes:

Title: A long and Meaningful Life

I'm now seventy-seven with an expiration date of one hundred. I know I'll make it with every fibre of my being, partly because of the meaning I've attached to my life.

Our life stories are all different. Meaning can be a guiding light, a beacon that always brings you back to shore, to solid ground. Once you understand your life's importance and meaning, you'll be more grounded and better understand how you fit into this thing we all call life.

Outsider

If you've felt like an outsider, understanding your life's meaning will remove that feeling. When we understand who we are and our life's purpose and meaning entirely, we're no longer outsiders; we move into the "stream of life" destined to achieve life's purpose with an understanding of who we are.

Choices

I've heard people say, why? Why did I make those choices? Now you know why? When you understand the meaning, choices become much clearer and based on your life, not on something you've heard or think you understand. Once you understand meaning, then it's like having a perfect vision of who you are, what you want, and where you need to go.

Age

This is a message of hope and inspiration. The food for thought in this video gives us all hope and a deeper understanding. I was in my late thirties when my life's meaning became clear to me.

A reader of another story I wrote on this subject said she understood hers as a child growing up in an impoverished circumstance. It happens differently for everyone. But, this much is consistent if you do not take the time to listen and plan for your own life, you'll never receive the benefits associated with understanding your life's meaning.

Are you over twenty-one, in your mid-life, in your seventies, or even later in life? This message is for each of us. I encourage us all to think this through.

Every college student and adult should take the fifty-five-plus minutes to watch and listen to this video. I guarantee there's a message embedded in the video that was meant for you.

Thank you for reading,

Thought LeadersHumanitymental healthself carepsychologylifestylehumanity
Like

About the Creator

DR Rawson

I'm a semi-retired serial entrepreneur. I'm currently working on three start-ups. All three are in publishing. Our venture, TinyTales.press launches the week of April 8th, 2024. I began writing in 2021.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.