Humor logo

Adventure to Sea

'Unscramble (me brain and help me to follow directions) Challenge' of poor, dear, not so much swashbuckler me!

By Shirley BelkPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
11
A "Swashbuckler's" Adventure

~What started out as a relaxing trip on an ocean voyage...

almost caused me pants to smell of soilage.

Norwegian Cruise berth

~As I arose from my berth, my head did a whacker,

and Polly, please give that darn yacking bird a salt cracker!

~The blues and oranges of his proud plumed hackle

bobbed up and down as he let out one hellacious shrill cackle.

Give the Me the Cracker, Landlubber!

~Before me a one-legged man, with one "almost a hand" on his huckle,

stood waist forward...waving a cutlass and adorned a brass buckle!

Captain Swashbuckler

~He cussed and spatted and spit and growled that "he" was the Captain

then ordered his mates to grab me, shackle me, and put me to batten.

~This peg-legged, hooked, and one-eyed old Jack did glint

as his pockets did jingle with doubloons yet to be spent.

~He wolfed down some brack followed by a scuttlebutt of ale

and then let out a belch straight from the fiery pit of hell!

~Handsome Jack Sparrow he most definitely was not...

his dirty black eyepatch and teeth smelled of rot!

shackled maiden

~As I peered around the best that I could in considering my fate,

the chains I preferred to the proverbial plank which I'd hate.

~I decided to be settled in me situation and not baulk in me distress,

because I have a dreadful fear of sharks, I must secretly confess!

Anatomy of a Pirate Ship

~The Captain's wackers were quite busy from the bow to the stern,

they were too afraid to be any type of sad slugs or slackers he'd burn.

~No complaints were uttered from me mouth, but me nose certainly did;

from the deck there were shuckers of whelks and choppers of squid!

Get in the Coffer, Squid Matey!

~Some of his hearties were making whips of kurbashes...

I'm sure they weren't meant for mere rashes but instead, deep lashes!

~Others made haste shaping dough into discs...

those kulchas sure would taste good with some bisque!

~But just then I noticed countless small chukars in cages...

sweet, cooing birds whose fates against my soul rages!

Salmagundi Recipe (notice use of pigeons)

~A very loud voice from the Crow's Nest gave a big holler...

"Captain, I spy black clouds and we're doomed for a squall-or!!!"

~"YO HO HO" screamed back Old Sea-Dog, & with his becks and his calls,

"Batten down hatches and caulk those seams...with the wind we do haul!

Ahoy Mate!

~Long story, short...the batten and caulk, it did not at all matter...

the wind tossed our ship like the worst quirks of Mad Hatter!

~Me chains they released, to save me limbs for me torso,

grateful to be free from me misery, yet one more to harrow.

~There was a large crack and then a boom, what a wreck!

First no sail, then no bow, no stern, neither helm, nor a deck...

~ Luckily, I floated off to some distant, unknown shore

on a splintered bulk of wood, but me head was bad sore!

prodigy-game.fandom.com

~Me feet were entangled with green snaky wrack

Oh, how I hated that and thought I might crack!

~ Beholden for the backrush that moved that slimy mess...

and where I'd go from here was only mine and yours to guess!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Footnote: When I was a child and we lived in the Canary Islands, we travelled on a small ship from one island to another. I remember becoming so ill with seasickness and the round windows in our cabin were washing up green slimy, moving kelp, making me even more nauseous. This is why I would never do a cruise. Sorry Norwegian, thanks, but no thanks...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Definitions from Oxford (in order of bolden words, which were from my 12 letter Word to unscramble into these words):

1. whacker: a person or thing that strikes something forcefully

2. hackle: long narrow feathers on the neck of a bird

3. huckle: hip

4. buckle: a flat, typically rectangular frame with a hinged pin, used for joining the ends of a belt or strap

5. shackle: a pair of fetters connected together by a chain, used to fasten a prisoner's wrists or ankles together

6. brack: cake or bun containing dry fruit

7. belch: emit gas noisily from the stomach through the mouth

8. black: the very darkest color owing to the absence of or complete absorption of light

9. baulk: be unwilling to do something

10. wackers: friends or pals

11. shuckers: those who shuck clams, oysters, (and whelks in this case.)

12. whelks: sea snails with hard shells and soft bodies

13. kurbashes: whips made from rhino skin

14. kulchas: disc shaped bread

15. chukars: partridges or pigeons

16. becks: a gesture such as a nod

17. caulk: material used to seal seams against leakage (Pirates pounded and compressed caulking material (usually “oakum,” which was tarred hemp cordage) into the seam.

18. wreck: destruction of a ship

19. wrack: seaweed on the shore

20. backrush: return of water seaward after a wave

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

References:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'd like to thank Heather Hubler and her great sense of creativity in choosing this challenge! I truly enjoyed participating in her idea, because I got to use my love of research discovering the life of pirates, learned many new word meanings, and had so much fun with this "swashbuckling" endeavor! However, I went a bit crazy and have way too many words to participate in her challenge (with a limit of 150 words!) But I look forward to your submissions, just the same...Check the challenge out:

WitSarcasmFunny
11

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    What an adventure I've just taken! Loved your story, especially the use of the pigeons ha!

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Oh my goodness, this was soooo much fun!! I loved Captain Swashbuckler, what a character. And you had some really wonderful unscrambled word choices. I enjoyed this so much, thank your for entering and for being such a wonderful presence on the platform :)

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    What fun read, Shirley! Alas, I too went "overboard," but what a fun trip this challenge has been so far! I love that you included definitions. I wish I'd thought of it.

  • Omgggg, not only did you use so many unscrambled words in your hilarious poem-story but you also managed to make it rhyme! You're so freaking brilliant! I loved it!

  • What a wonderful rollicking tale! And all rhyming too✅ I chose a word, got lots of smaller ones to include, but not sure it’s going to happen! We shall see… what an achievement!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    This was fun, Shirley!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Nice entry to the Challenge 💗

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Lol, I bet you had fun writing this one. I was a whole lot of fun to read!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    THis poem is pure giggling delight and an excellent entry to the Scramble challenge! Great work, Shirley!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Wow, this is very cleverly written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.