Humans logo

Should Elder Siblings Share Responsibility Towards Younger Siblings?

Family means sticking together in hard times.

By Ainy AbrahamPublished 19 days ago 3 min read
6
AI image generated by the Author

As I am fond of reading, I keep searching for different topics, especially those from real life. While scrolling my Facebook, I read a letter from 27 27-year-old girl enquiring about the opinions of readers regarding her thoughts.

Let me share a few parts of that letter for a clear view of her.

Mom had me at 16 and raised me and my four younger siblings alone. I left home at 18, studied hard, and now at 27, I have a good job with decent pay. Recently, my 12-year-old sister was diagnosed with an auto-immune disease, and she is very ill. Now mom expects me to pay for her expensive treatments.

I refused because life in the city is not cheap, and on top of that, I need to be saving up for my future. But Mom declared, "I am ashamed of you! Family does not let go of each other this easily when in need."

She added, "As the oldest child, you have duties towards your siblings. You have to be dedicated to them just like I devoted my life to raising you."

My mother's words crushed me, yet I cannot simply let go of my future to become my family's "savior". I need to put myself first.

Am I being rational or too selfish?

Let me share you my story and this will clear my point of view in this regard.

I am the youngest of my siblings. We are five sisters and two brothers. When I was ten years old my father's whole right side from head to toe was paralyzed and he was unable to move or do anything by himself. You can understand what I mean. He could not earn anything and the doctor told us that he would improve slowly and slowly but would never be able to recover fully from that paralysis.

I was in grade 5 then and I completed my PhD with the support of my elder siblings. My brothers and sisters supported me emotionally plus financially.

There were my father's savings but those were being spent on the medicine and treatment of my father. House rent, utility bills, and other expenditures were also to be met with those savings.

I am admitting that if my elder siblings would not have supported me I would be nothing. My education was not possible.

I have a balanced personality and I thank God that I was blessed with a great family that never left me in hard times. They adored me, pampered me stood with me in those times, and let me shine. They gave me whatever they could to make my life better. I know I can not repay them but at least I can admit their priceless love and devotion towards me.

I have made my point clear. They might have saved their money for their future but at what cost? At the cost of their younger siblings!

The letter I shared is clearly showing that her younger sister is sick and needs her help. In my eyes she is selfish. She can earn again and who knows a lot better than now.

Her mother is right as family is meant to help each other in hard times and help means sacrificing one's desires and helping the other family members. God has created these relations to help each other. otherwise, there would be no difference between strangers and blood relations.

This is the time to help and ease her mother. Her mother would not be able to take care of her sister on her own and is anxious about the health of her daughter. This is the time to show unity.

When we laugh even strangers join us but in hard times only a few come to ease us and extend their helps.

Stream of Consciousnesslovehumanityfamilyadvice
6

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Murali16 days ago

    Like your elder sibling, my elder brother sacrificed his future (I mean, he never went to college after completing school) to help us move forward. (I'm in college because of him). He has always helped me and my parents as well.

  • Ameer Bibi17 days ago

    I really support or appreciate your writings on family excellent story

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Your ending comment wraps up the truth, for sure. Yet there could be more to the story than the questioner shared. We can only do what is right for us at the time. I enjoyed your story and how you included background information. 🫶🏻

  • You have shared your story to support your point of view. Families are meant to support and if it is not seen in a family then its a crowd of strangers.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.