Humans logo

Power of Truth in the World of Lies

Discovering the influence of honesty on character development

By Ameer BibiPublished 14 days ago 4 min read
13
Image created by author via Bing AI

A knock on the door broke the quiet afternoon. Emma checked the clock — it was three. She called out to Sara, opened the door, and told her the tutor had arrived. Sara grabbed her school bag, led the tutor to the guest room, finished her homework, and learned something new.

After completing her work excitedly, Sara told her mom, “Mama, my tutor said we should always be happy, even when we face problems, and we should never tell lies.”

Emma agreed, “Yes, sweetheart. Lying upsets God, and blessings stay away from those who lie. We should always speak the truth, whether we get benefit or loss.”

Later in the day, Adam, Sara’s dad, said, “If anyone asks about me, say I’m not at home.” The phone rang, and Emma answered it, telling Adam’s friend that he was out for work. After hanging up, Sara immediately asked, “Mama, why did you lie?”

Adam turned his attention from the newspaper and looked towards Sara. Sara said immediately, “I found it! It was a lie, and I learnt in today’s class work that we should never speak it.

Adam said, “It is correct because the one who lies is a sinner, and the other is that when someone tells a lie, he has to speak 100 more lies to hide that lie. It is good to tell the truth.

Sara added: Same. I was telling Mother. She said on the phone that you were not at home when you were at home, and you were sitting there. Why did you not stop her? I am worried God will be angry with Mom, and I want his blessings for Mom.

Adam deeply thought about Sara’s question of the lie and truth. Sara glanced towards her father and asked, “Tell me, Dad, why did Mom say this? I am confused.”

Adam got no answer, so he said: “Dear, leave it, go and play outside.

Suddenly, there was a knock on the door again. Emma opened the door and exclaimed, “Hey brother, it feels like two moons have come together during the daytime in my home. Oh, my dear, I’m so glad to see you after a long time. I was thinking about you, and you guys made my day.

Steve entered and said, “Sister! It is the love of your family that draws us to your home. How you treat us gives us comfort, love, and care; it looks like we are in our home. Otherwise, it is difficult to spare time nowadays to visit someone, as life has become demanding.

By the way, where is Adam? Emma replied he was not home. He remains busy most of the time in the office. But no worries, brother, please sit down. I will make tea for us, and then we will talk happily.

When she came to the kitchen, Sara stopped playing and followed her mother. A quick question: “Who is this guest’s uncle and aunt?” Sara asked.

Emma remarked, “He is your father’s friend and his wife.” Though they are colleagues and not family friends, they often visit us. These people find it challenging to stay peacefully in their homes. Look, I thought I would go to the parlour after finishing home chores.” However, this trouble will persist for the next three or four hours.

Emma kept murmuring, “The hell is this…” while Sara stood there, paying keen attention to her words.

When Emma brought cups of tea, Sara also joined her mother. Mr. Steve mentioned, “It’s been a wonderful day. And Sister, there’s no match for the tea you make, and that’s why I’m here today.”

Emma quickly stated, “Hey, brother! You rarely visit our home, maybe once in two or three months, and even when you come, you don’t stay long.” Sara added weirdly, “So now you were saying this trouble would be there for three or four hours?”

Emma angrily interrupted, saying, “Come on, you and go upstairs. But Dad was saying not to bother him, as he was sleeping. I am not going there.” Sara replied.

Steve said, “Sister-in-law, you said Adam did not come from the office.”

Emma did not understand what to say or what not to say. Sara again brings an earthquake: “Mama, you were saying that these people do not know how to spend family time in their house, so they came to interfere with our routine.”

Mr. Steve, standing up with her wife, said, “Well, this is your reality; sorry that we were unaware.” Emma stopped him and said, “Brother, please listen to me.” But they did not stop to hear anything more.

Emma furiously slapped Sara and asked if she would repeat such silly things in front of someone like Papa, who was at home, and what I had said about them before. Could you answer me, Sara?

While Sara was in tears and thinking: “God would be angry if I told a lie, there will be no more blessings.”

They both say that lying is wrong, and then they get angry for not telling a lie.

Such contradictions in our actions raise questions in innocent and growing brains. Why do they do things they prevent us from doing? It’s a lesson to consider the importance of honesty and its impact on relationships.

Kids like Sara teach us that what they learn from us matters. Being honest and doing right is crucial for their growth and character development.

In the Book of Life, truth writes the best chapters for our children's growth and lasting connections.

lovefamilyadvice
13

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I love to read, write, and discuss life, health, fiction, and humour. If you write anything related to these topics, subscribe to me and share your story; I would love to read it and share my opinion. You can find me on Medium.

With Thanks

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk8 days ago

    Sara teaches us all, I'm afraid!

  • Guzel10 days ago

    Amazing ❤

  • Farhat Naseem13 days ago

    nice and amazing

  • Murali13 days ago

    One of the worst things parents can do is... " Emma furiously slapped Sara " They all say one thing but do the opposite. When children point it out, they get yelled at instead of being given an explanation for why the adults are acting that way.

  • good

  • We grow up like this, with contradictory information being fed to us, and we realize in adulthood we find it difficult to make our own choices.

  • Rosie𐙚14 days ago

    Such a good read :) Very relatable!

  • As a child, I too was told that I should never tell lies. But the same adults who told me not to tell lies have asked me to lie for them. Such hypocrites! Loved your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.