Humans logo

Power of Faith

Hear me out

By Donny FoleyPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
20

The power of faith is amazing

Don't worry, I don't mean religious faith, I'm not here to convert you, though if you are religious you might relate to this just as well in your own way

Some background; My real big person job is being a high school history teacher and I'm hoping I get picked to speak at a event for the seniors so I've been brainstorming themes and I think I like this one the most and the more I thought about it the more I wanted to share the message with as many people as possible.

When I say faith (maybe synonymous to hope) here I mean human faith. Raw, uncut, uninhibited belief in a goal or the success of something. Faith in a goal is one of the basest things humans can have. Neanderthals probably had faith they'd make it through the next winter, or that their next hunt would be successful. People from ancient times had faith that their civilization would be successful and prosper. It is with this evidence in mind that I say faith is strong.

I want to discuss how powerful just having faith is.

In my humble opinion, faith is what moves and shapes history more than anything else in the world except for maybe greed. But that's part of the beauty, faith (when in the hands of the good guys) usually fights against things like greed, hate, oppression, and oftentimes, faith wins.

At this point you might be asking how faith has shaped history, well I'll tell you

Faith has spurred on most major events.

Revolutions were based on the faith that they would win and make a country a better place

Inventions were made by people with the faith that what they were making would benefit humanity or at the very least benefit themselves. Just think about Thomas Edison who took hundreds of attempts to make the lightbulb. He had faith that he would be able to do it no matter how many times he failed.

Politics were swayed or altered by people with the faith that their way was better than the other way, for better or worse.

Movement leaders had faith that their words, the words of an individual, could reflect and ripple throughout society and bring about change.

Civilizations were built on the faith that they would succeed.

Past generations had faith that their progeny would continue their legacy and the legacy of their culture.

People have faith in one another in times of hardship, leaning on those closest to you, or even strangers, for support.

Even if the person you leaned on lets you fall you should have faith that not everyone will be that way and someone will eventually help you up so you can stand tall.

The simple fact that we have faith makes us human and there's nothing more beautiful than that.

All this to say that faith is such a powerful driving force in history, it is so strong in its ways, proper faith can not be put down or smothered, even if others try,. Simply look at wars that were fought in an attempt to put out the faith held by others, it takes wars to even attempt to dampen proper faith.

Because it is so powerful a force I want to share it with you, even if I don't know you.

I want you to know I have faith in you.

I have faith my students will succeed, I have faith you'll make it another day, I have faith you'll make the right decisions, I have faith you'll make each day better than the last.

And now hopefully my faith is strong enough to reach each and every one of you and spur you on to have faith in yourselves.

humanityadvice
20

About the Creator

Donny Foley

Sci-fi/Fantasy is my jam but I'll write just about anything

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Belle6 days ago

    Congratulations on top story!

  • Anna 6 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • D. D. Lee9 days ago

    I liked the story before I finished. Lol. This was a read that I really needed. Thank you for this and all the best to you and your students. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Maulana Ji9 days ago

    Well Done

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Kay Husnick9 days ago

    Congrats on the Top Story! I'm glad you were able to finish this one. I know it was giving you a hard time, but I had faith in you (I had to say it, and I'm not sorry).

  • Alexander McEvoy10 days ago

    Having faith in things skews too close to spiritualism for my taste. I flatly reject any kind of spirituality in my life for personal reasons. But I do understand what you're saying. Hope, trust, and other such things are instrumental to human enterprise. Revolutions that murdered millions of innocents were built on the hope that at the end of all the carnage, something better would be built on the bones and ashes. Sometimes that hope was even fulfilled. The world has done its best to crush all hope from me, and my entire generation I sometimes think, but it's still there if people want to look for it. From the war in Ukraine to ethnic cleansing in Gaza to elections in stable democracies, people still have hope that they can triumph over tyranny, and I think that's a beautiful thing. Can't claim that I believe in humanity, we're too far gone in my opinion, but I hold onto what often feels like the fool's hope that we'll come through the storm. Or, since I genuinely don't think humanity can live without conflict, shift into less damaging and horrible squabbles in future. Maybe we can solve international differences with hockey tournaments? Aggressive, exciting, sometimes violent, almost no fatalities. Might be a good system

  • Ameer Bibi10 days ago

    You are doing great that's a very good lesson for all of us

  • Well said Donny!

  • Rachel Deeming10 days ago

    A very uplifting message here, Donny. I have faith in you too. I think we all need a little.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.