Humans logo

More Thoughts About Harrison Butker

Providing some lessons in humanity and compassion

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 24 days ago 6 min read
Like

In my last story about Kansas City Chiefs Kicker Harrison Butker, I shared my thoughts about how his commencement speech at a college sparked outrage. I was appalled by his remarks, calling them bigoted and misogynistic. Now, I have more to say about this ongoing controversy surrounding Butker, as well as sharing words of compassion to two groups of people. If you would like to read my previous story about the three-time Super Bowl champion, you can click the link down below.

https://vocal.media/theSwamp/my-thoughts-about-harrison-butker-s-commencement-speech

"With great power comes great responsibility."

As people, we have to be responsible for the things we say and do, whether it's online or in public. When I say we, I meant everyone. This applies to me as well. Yes, you have the right to say what you want. However, just because you have a right to say something, it doesn't absolve you from any criticism you receive. In the case of Harrison Butker, while he is entitled to his own opinions, it doesn't excuse the awful comments he made. I fully condemn racism, misogyny, and bigotry. Since receiving swift backlash for his comments, sales of Butker's jersey have increased. However, there is a petition, which has over 100,000 signatures, urging the Chiefs to release him. Whether or not if they'll take any action towards him is unclear. He has yet to apologize for his comments. Even if he did, an apology from him would be meaningless and insincere. If he has sponsors, they need to consider cutting ties with him. When you have sponsors or collaborate with brands, you're expected to represent them to the best of your abilities. If they don't like something that might hurt their reputation, they have the right to cut you loose. There are consequences for our actions, so it's very vital that the things we say and do don't get misconstrued. Freedom of speech doesn't mean freedom from consequences.

I know that Cancel Culture is ridiculous, but unfortunately, it's a thing and we've seen and heard about athletes, celebrities, regular people, etc. losing their jobs over things they've said in public and online. You have to be willing to take responsibility for the things to do and say.

For example, this is Curt Schilling, for you non sports people. He's the winner of three World Series titles and multiple Cy Young awards. Also, he was co-MVP of the 2001 World Series alongside Randy Johnson. You would think he'd be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame already, but I'll expand on that part in a bit. He's probably one of the most hated people that has ever played the game. In the years since his retirement, he has caused a considerable amount of controversy, including sharing an offensive meme in 2016 that he posted online which was deemed transphobic. That particular meme caused him to be fired from ESPN as a color commentator. A year earlier, he was suspended by ESPN from Little League coverage after posting a comment about linking Nazis to Muslim extremists. Out of respect for my readers and everyone else, I decided to not post his offensive and disturbing comments on here. As a creator on Vocal, I believe in having integrity. I refuse to give Curt Schilling any attention in this manner. I've never liked him and the reason why he's not in Cooperstown is because of his own mouth, not society. Baseball writers expect players to have a level of decorum, especially when they're no longer playing the game. There's no denying that Curt was talented. He has never taken any performing enhancing drugs, which is good. Curt had several opportunities to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame, but he messed that up by becoming a controversial figure and will be for the rest of his life. He's a man who will be forever despised by baseball fans. His legacy, or what's left of it, will be forever tarnished because of his unwillingness to stop offending people.

Going back to Harrison Butker, I have more things to say to him. Your views on women was not only misogynistic, but also reinforces outdated stereotypes. Marriage and kids are the two things most women would want, but it's not the ultimate goal for all women and that's okay. Plus, women can have careers in whatever field they so choose. Unless you know the daily lives of every woman, it's not your place to tell them what path they should be on. You're not the moral authority of that and it's none of your business. You are out of touch with reality. Last time I checked, this was 2024, not the 1950s. It's fine if you don't want to keep up with the times. That's clearly a you problem. Whether you want to believe it or not, times have changed and the world is changing. You can't control everyone and everything. Focus on raising your own career and family. Just leave people alone. Finally, inclusion and diversity are among the many core values of this country. If those bother you so much, that's your problem. You want to feel like you're being persecuted because of your religious beliefs and right-wing views, which is not the case. It's more about your lack of self-awareness and lack of compassion towards others.

On to the topic of Pride Month: it's not your job to tell LGBTQ+ people who they can or can't be. Unless you've walked a mile in their shoes and had empathy for them, you have no room to judge. The reason why there's a Pride Month and LGBTQ+ History Month is because they're among the few groups of people who have been and still are discriminated against, just because of who they are. I know that feeling, because I'm part of this community. I was shunned and disowned by my family for being gay. I've had feelings for the same sex dating back to the first grade. Almost 20 years later, I came out of the closet at 24. I'm approaching 40 and I still accept and embrace the real me. As for you, Harrison. Your bigoted rhetoric can cause harm towards people like me and could cause others to take their own lives. I don't want my fellow brothers and sisters to fall victim to hate crimes committed by others. I want them to feel respected and safe. This leads me to my final point: your faith. Harrison, you are entitled to your own religious beliefs. You can share your own faith as much as you want without demeaning and dehumanizing other people and their experiences in the process, because when you lack compassion for others, you're making yourself bigger than everyone else. I don't care if you're religious. It's more of you downplaying people's feelings and their experiences is what others have a problem with. Having a religious belief is not a hall pass for you to be insensitive towards others and their plights. I've said this in my previous story about you and will say it again: stay in your own lane and mind your own business. Also, stop worrying about stuff that doesn't concern you and also, have several damn seats.

Before I conclude this story, I would like to spend a few moments to share some words of advice. I believe that compassion is one of the many traits I love to display.

To the women who are reading this story right now: you have my full unconditional support. Don't be afraid to pursue whatever your heart desires. Also, don't let people like Harrison determine your own future or devalue you as a person. You are the in the driver's seat of your life, meaning you can do whatever the hell you want. Be that confident woman you are and own it. You are a badass. Harrison is a jerk and a loser. This advice also applies to all female creators on Vocal. You have my support as well. Keep up the good work and never stop being an inspiration to others.

To my fellow LGBTQ+ brothers and sisters: you are loved, do matter, and also exist. I also respect your pronouns. Harrison will never understand how far you've come and the person that you are today. He'll never know your story, because he wants to be a victim and find ways to make you feel less than what you are. Never apologize for being you and if people don't like it, let them go. If someone hasn't told you that they like you for who you are, I'll be the first one to say it to you. Always stand tall and be fabulous in every single way.

If you liked this story or any of my previous ones, please consider sending me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of this story. Whether it's big or small, your tips encourage me to write more stories. Also, please subscribe to my page, and finally follow me on my social media pages. The information to those will be found in my profile. Much love to you and happy reading.

social medialgbtqhumanityhow toCONTENT WARNINGcelebritiesadvice
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.