Humans logo

How the Journey of Self-discovery Helped me Find the Love Within Myself.

The greatest gift we can give ourselves is love.

By Kennedy MontecuePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
How the Journey of Self-discovery Helped me Find the Love Within Myself.
Photo by Raychan on Unsplash

When I was around the age 17 years old, I fell in love with a boy I had no business loving. All the feelings of love and infatuation were simply euphoric as my feelings grew more and more. It wasn't until the summer of 2015 when I realized that he wasn't the one I was going to spend my life with all because he chose to believe a lie an old friend and his now ex-girlfriend started about me. So that ended everything.

It wasn't until I was 19 years old when I tried putting myself out there again only to get my heart broken again.

One night in 2017, I had an epiphany. I knew what I wanted in a romantic relationship: Loyalty, trust, stability emotional maturity. Basically everything a 16 to 19-year-old boy can't give you. And frankly, at that age, I wasn't about to jump on the older man train.

But also I realized that I had been chasing something I couldn't attain at that time because I didn't love nor did I know myself the way I should have. So I promised to stop dating until I was emotionally and mentally ready for a partner.

On the journey to finding myself, past childhood trauma, and things I had buried in the back of my mind started to surface. Including the things I did to hide the pain of many heartbreaks.

Because the power of these memories and traumatic events were too overwhelming, I decided to seek therapy and come up with a plan on how to deal with the overwhelming sadness I've felt for years.

But also, while in therapy. The reasons why I wanted a relationship came up. We concluded that it was from a toxic and unhealthy place of co-dependency.

I was trying to find the love I didn't get in the past from all the wrong men. Which is a story all too common nowadays. 

If I could go back in time and tell myself anything in those moments of time, I say you didn't them. They could never give you the love that you want or need. The road they will take on is a road to pain and heartbreak. But the sad thing is I don't think I would have listened. I was so desperate to be loved, I would have ignored all advice both solicited and non. Which is why I kept getting hurt.

Today, I can honestly say with the wholeness of my soul that I am in a much healthier place in my life. I don't feel like I need to fight for the love and affection of others because I am finally secure in myself. 

People can say negative things to me, and at first, it does hurt because yes, I am a human, and words hurt. But after an hour or two, I feel completely okay and happy with myself. I no longer feel like I have to change or condense myself to be loved and or accepted by men or even other people. 

This time when I do start dating again, the relationship will be different because I have unconditional love and respect for myself. Which also shows him how I want to be treated in the relationship.

Plus I won't look to him to be my only happiness. Of course, he'll make me happy, but he's not my end game.

The journey to self-discovery is a long and sometimes painful one, but once you break through those things that hindered you from growing and having a healthy relationship with others, but most importantly yourself, life becomes smoother because of the love and acceptance you have for yourself.

Love what you read? Sign Up for my newsletter

love
2

About the Creator

Kennedy Montecue

Mental and Women’s Health Blogger who occasionally writes about love and social media, and freelance writing .Published Poet & Content Creator who edits articles for money :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.