Humans logo

Helping Hands

Helping those in need

By Kaylon ForsythPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1

When you are given the chance to help someone, who is looking in earnest for help, for all the right reasons, you should not turn them down, if it lies within your capacity to in fact help. When we realize the value of not only ourselves, but the divinity which we all possess, ourselves, and others alike, and begin to recognize this quality in those with which we come in contact with, it makes life such a beautiful experience. Occurrences which may seem like those of random chance, begin to happen at a rate, which is far to prevalent to be labeled as chance, in my experience.

A co worker sent out a company wide email, looking for a ride to get back and forth to work for a short duration of time, and this caught my attention, and without hesitation, I offered my assistance. I do not live in the same city as this individual, however, it did not stop me from offering help to him, because I know that I have the means to be able to help this man. Upon first arriving at his house to pick him up for work, he invited me in for coffee, and we started having a conversation in regards to how nice I thought his house was, which led to another conversation about help being offered to me. He told me that if I ever needed a place to stay, he has multiple rooms which are free, and kindly offered one of them to me, in the event that I need it.

Me and this individual then began talking about a commonality which we both share in regards to having both, lost our spouses in a very similar way, and are now developing a closer bond, which is indicative of true friendship. When we take the time to offer up the assistance that we have the power to offer, it opens up doors that we may have otherwise never even knew of. My offer to help this man with a ride, resulted in a newly formed friendship, as well as a place to stay if I ever happen to need it. One act of kindness, as they say, deserves another, and this I have noticed through the changes I have made in my life, is not just relevant, in all we do, but is also vitally true from my experience.

This individual happened to get into a car accident which left him without a vehicle, which is a common event that takes place in this world, that being the case, it hit my heart when he sent out the email asking for help. We never know what someone else may be going through in this life, so when we are able to help others, in whatever way we can, and are capable of doing, it opens up a new pathway for your life to venture down, and if you act in accordance with spiritual truths, such as kindness begets more kindness, and violence begets more violence, it becomes quite clear, which way we should live our lives.

Never look down on another because they are in need of help, especially if you have the capacity to help. Denying a person the kindness of offering a helping hand, will in my experience and opinion, only result in a narrowing of your spiritual capabilities, which in turn will have a drastic effect on your capabilities here in the physical world. I implore you, if someone is seeking assistance, in whatever way that may be, and you have the capacity to help them, do not hold back that offering, instead do so with compassion in your heart, and welcome them as though they are friends, for we all stem from the same root, and we are all part of the same human family, so let us act accordingly, and weave kindness into our words, our deeds, and our thoughts.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Kaylon Forsyth

I lost my wife back in 2019 and I started this as an outlet for my emotional expression in regards to the pain from the loss, it has helped me substantially since that time, and I have put great effort into all of my efforts since then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    You were so selfless and kind to volunteer to help him without any expectation but in return, you formed a friendship and a place to stay of you needed one. I totally agree with you that we should always help if we can. Reading this put a smile on my face!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.