Humans logo

Full Circle

A conversation transcends time, from one life to the next, we grow with grace.

By Christina HunterPublished about a year ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2023
33
Full Circle
Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

We pull up to the curb of the school yard, in the same spot we always do. Her friends are waiting at the edge of the property for her. They're a huddle of pre-teen excitement with long strands of hair swirling around them in the wind. They spot my blue car a mile away. As we approach, they inch closer to the edge of the school boundary, waving and smiling; A greeting she has received every day for as long as I can remember.

"Who's that?" I ask her, pointing to a girl hovering just outside of the circle. A girl pulling at her backpack straps and shifting her weight from one foot to the other. A girl who looks just like the others, with long coffee brown hair, middle part, nervously tucking and re-tucking behind one ear. Jeans too-short for her rapidly changing body.

"She's new," my daughter says.

I glance again at the group of giggles, the impatience now reverberating back to the car. I sense my daughter's growing eagerness to join them, but I have questions.

"Why isn't she included in the circle?" I ask.

"She is. We hang out with her, Mom." A slight eyeroll accompanies her statement.

She reaches for the door handle, at the same moment my memory reaches back to a time long before I was a mom, or a wife, barely an adult. A time fresh out of college, when I spent my days in a high-rise office building full of grey and taupe and echoing hallways, as an Advertising Assistant. Another life entirely. I can still remember every detail of my cubicle, every silly little memento I hung on my corkboard to remind me of home, of who I was outside of those walls.

It was not uncommon in the Advertising industry for people to enter and exit agencies so quickly you may never know their name. In fact, I, too, am one of those people, having spent only two short years in that life before retreating back to my hometown in search of a simpler life. There is one name, however, that I recall now and again, and as my daughter reaches for the door handle, his name bubbles to the surface, as if nudging me.

The day we met, I went to retrieve a report from the photocopy room and there was a person sitting at a desk inside that small space. A makeshift office for a new-hire.

"Oh," I gasped, startled to find someone there. We exchanged names and shook hands. Kabir, he'd said. He was small in stature with caramel coloured skin and inky black hair, cropped short and parted on the side. We joked about his cushy space (at least you have a door!), and the heat from the printer warming him up.

Every day after that, as I retrieved my reports we made meaningless chitchat, something that likely happened to Kabir all day long. Unremarkable conversations. As lunchtime approached each day, and our media crew discussed which pub we wanted to eat at, I would pop my head into Kabir's "office" and ask if he wanted to join. He rarely accepted, but it became habit to offer as we pulled on our coats and piled out of the building each afternoon.

One day, Kabir approached my cubicle which made a few others turn to see what was happening.

He cleared his throat.

"Can I talk to you for a second?"

I swiveled in my chair and smiled towards Kabir standing there, looking nervous for some reason. "What's up?" I asked.

Kabir told me he had put in his resignation and would be leaving the agency. Since it was his last day, he had wanted to tell me that he was grateful that I asked him to lunch each day, even though he rarely accepted the invitation. That it helped him feel welcome and accepted.

I was shocked and left speechless. All I could stammer out was, "of course. I wish you accepted the offer more often. We will miss you here. And who will I talk to now when I retrieve my reports?" we both laughed.

That conversation now plays in my mind as vivid as the day it happened. I watch my daughter's friends waiting in the huddle for her, with one just outside of reach. Before my daughter opens the door, I quickly share the story of Kabir.

She exits the car just as she has every day for as long as I can remember. She crosses the street and walks towards her friends the same as every other day, only this time, she continues past them and stands beside the new girl. As I drive away, the huddle closes in around them. One full circle.

(*the names in this story have been changed.)

friendship
33

About the Creator

Christina Hunter

Author, Mother, Wife. Recipient of the Paul Harris Fellowship award and 2017 nominee for the Women of Distinction award through the YWCA. Climate Reality Leader, Zero-Waste promoter, beekeeper and lover of all things natural.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I loved this. We should all be kind and include others. A great message to share with your daughter too. The eye roll!

  • Zeeshan May9 months ago

    What a beautifully poetic post! "Full Circle" captures the essence of profound connections that span lifetimes, and the growth that comes with grace and understanding. 🌟💫 https://vocal.media/authors/zeeshan-may

  • Heather N King11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this heartfelt and uplifting piece! Your words beautifully convey the power of resilience and the journey of personal growth. It's inspiring to see how life's challenges can ultimately lead us full circle, reminding us of our strength and the potential for positive transformation. Your story resonated deeply, reminding me of the importance of embracing change and finding gratitude in every step of our journey. Keep writing and spreading this wonderful message of hope and self-discovery!

  • Kabir might have been an introvert because I am and I rarely accept invitations to join for lunch or pretty much anything. But then again, I could be completely wrong about him, lol! But eventually, my friends and coworkers just stopped inviting me because I don't ever accept. That made me very sad as I didn't feel included. It made me feel so lonely and isolated. So, I'm very grateful you invited Kabir daily despite him never accepting. The world needs more people like you. Congratulations on placing as a Runner Up!

  • aly11 months ago

    loving it.

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    Very sweet. Most of us have felt alone in a crowd at one time or another. I certainly have. This was very well done.

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    Superb👌❤

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    well that made me teary! Beautiful job with this!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Beautiful. Congratulations on a well-deserved Top Story!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Aww, I loved this. What a beautiful story to share :)

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Ahhh this touches my heart. ❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.