Horror logo

The House of Dead Bodies

'Trapped in the Nightmare"

By Isra SaleemPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Like
The House of Dead Bodies
Photo by Iluha Zavaley on Unsplash

As I stepped out of my car and onto the crumbling driveway, a chill ran down my spine. The old mansion loomed before me, its turrets and gargoyles reaching towards the moon like skeletal fingers. I had always been drawn to the supernatural and the unknown, and this place was rumored to be one of the most haunted in the country.

I approached the entrance, a massive wooden door with iron hinges and a heavy-looking iron knocker in the shape of a lion's head. As I reached out to grasp the knocker, it suddenly swung open with a creak, as if pushed by an invisible hand.

I stepped inside, my heart racing with excitement and fear. The air inside was thick and heavy, filled with the scent of decay and rot. I wandered through the dark, dusty halls, my flashlight casting eerie shadows on the walls.

As I turned a corner, I stumbled upon a room filled with dead bodies. They were arranged in a macabre tableau, their eyes open and staring, their skin gray and decaying. I felt a scream rising in my throat, but it was frozen there, unable to escape.

Suddenly, I heard a voice whispering in my ear. "Welcome to my home," it said. "You'll never leave."

I spun around, but there was no one there. The voice seemed to come from all around me, echoing off the walls.

As I turned to flee, I saw a figure standing in the doorway. It was a woman, her face twisted in a grotesque grimace, her eyes black as coal. She began to move towards me, her movements slow and jerky, like a puppet on a string.

I tried to run, but my feet were rooted to the spot. The woman reached out a bony hand and touched my face, and I felt a chill run down my spine.

And then, everything went black.

When I came to, I was lying on the floor, my head throbbing with pain. The room was empty, the dead bodies gone. But as I stumbled to my feet and made my way back to the entrance, I heard the voice again, whispering in my ear.

"You'll never forget this place," it said. "And you'll never be the same again."

As I emerged into the bright sunlight, I knew that I had left something behind in that house. Something that would haunt me for the rest of my days.

I tried to shake off the feeling of dread that lingered long after I left the mansion. But I couldn't shake the sensation that something was following me, watching me. I started to see things out of the corner of my eye - a glimpse of a decaying face, a hint of a bony hand reaching out to grab me. I knew I had to go back to the house, to confront whatever evil presence lurked within its walls.

As I approached the entrance, I noticed something strange. The door was open, just as I had left it. But this time, there was a message scrawled on the wall in red paint. "You should have stayed away." I felt a chill run down my spine as I realized that I was being summoned back into the heart of horror.

I was forever trapped in that house, reliving the same horrors over and over. The dead bodies seemed to come to life, their eyes following me as I moved. The woman's grimace was etched in my mind, her bony hand always reaching out to claim me. I was a prisoner of my own fears, unable to escape the nightmare that I had unleashed.

halloweenhow to
Like

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.