Horror logo

Meloetta’s Jealousy

She was flying with a lot of extra baggage

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished about a year ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
115
Photo by Bennie Lukas Bester on Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/clear-glass-jar-on-table-1277374/

“Melo look! This one looks like a dolphin jumping out of a sea of clouds!”

Meloetta (Mellow-ettah) gave her Grandma the side eye. She crossed her arms even tighter and turned to face her Dad, who was sleeping in the aisle seat.

“Oh come on, Melo. You’re gonna miss all the beautiful clouds if you’re gonna sulk for the whole flight”.

“Nana, I already told you that I wanted the window seat! Not the middle one!”

“But Melo, this is my first time on a plane and I wanted to have that experience before I die”.

“It’s my first time too, Nana!”

“You’re only nine and have your whole life ahead of you. That would bring many more opportunities for you to board a plane and have the window seat. I, on the other hand, would be snuffed out soon like a candle. It’s now or never for me”.

“Nana, you always have some kinda excuse for everything! Why do I always have to give up on what I want? And it’s always you who takes it from me!”

Meloetta’s Grandma was aghast at the blatant accusation, “How–how could you? I mean, why would you even say that, Melo? When have I ever done such a thing, especially to you?”

The look of utter disbelief dawned on Meloetta’s face, “Nana, what are you? Some kinda magician who makes your own memories disappear?”

“Forgive me, Melo darling, I’m old and my memory isn’t as good as it used to be. Please do remind me when and what did I do to you?” beseeched her Grandma.

“Okay, fine. Nana, do you remember baking chocolate chip cookies with macadamia nuts for Kirlia last month?”

“Yes dear, I remember that very well. Kirlia enjoyed them very much and said it was the best batch that I’ve ever made!

Meloetta rolled her eyes and muttered under her breath, “Oh yes, how would you forget anything to do with Kirlia?”

“What was that, Melo?”

“Nothing, Nana! You still don’t know where I’m going with this?”

Grandma looked very confused as she shook her head and her eyes implored.

“Nana, I asked to have some of those cookies and you didn’t let me have any. Not even one!”

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels:
https://www.pexels.com/photo/pensive-grandmother-with-granddaughter-having-interesting-conversation-while-cooking-together-in-light-modern-kitchen-3768146/

“Why sweetie, I baked those for Kirlia. I didn’t let anyone have them!”

“What happened to sharing? You’ve always said to share everything!” Meloetta brought her hands down hard on her lap, exasperated.

Grandma let out a soft sigh and looked at her son sleeping soundly in the aisle seat before answering, “Your cousin Kirlia just lost her Dad, my dear. Those cookies are her favourite, so I baked them for her. I wanted her to feel special”.

“Why does she get to feel special?”

“Well Melo, she’s not as lucky as you anymore. You have your Dad sitting beside you right now, but Kirlia would not get an opportunity like that again. Those cookies were my way of comforting her”.

Meloetta turned to look at her Dad. He took time off work to bring her to Disneyland. Her mom couldn’t make it, so her Grandma came instead.

“Nana, do you have a pen and paper? I would like to write some things down”.

Grandma was happy that Meloetta finally understood the circumstances. She fished for a pen from her purse and asked the stewardess for a paper.

“Thank you for the pen, Nana!” exclaimed Meloetta while twisting open the fountain pen.

Meloetta was on the third stab to her Dad’s neck when Grandma realized what was happening and grabbed Meloetta by both hands.

Her Dad was gurgling and blood was scaturient from his neck onto his clothes and the seat. He also went into a full-blown seizure.

“MELOETTA, WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?! THAT IS YOUR FATHER! HAVE YOU LOST YOUR MIND?!” shrieked her Grandma.

Meloetta turned to watch as her Dad’s seizure slowly subsided and his body went limp.

“I just lost my Daddy. So now you can bake me some chocolate chip cookies with macadamia nuts once we’re back home. And I don’t even have to share it!”
__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

travelslasherpsychologicalfiction
115

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (79)

Sign in to comment
  • Holden Atencio8 days ago

    Geez, Louise. My jaw dropped open. I was thinking, I like fountain pens, too. Then, the blood came! Scary child's interpretation.

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Isabella Rose5 months ago

    LOL. That was so morbid. The child was a brat.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Oh, wow, that escalated quickly. Evil child.

  • Miss Catherine9 months ago

    Raj.🙌🙌

  • MANOJ K 10 months ago

    Keep rocking

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    LOL!! That was awesome! I could literally see that coming, but was totally shocked when it happened! I think you should come up with a television series like "Shock Theater" and run snippets of horror like this every week. I'd be an avid subscriber!! Congratulations on the Top Story! Well deserved!! 👏

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Whew! You already had me hooked with Melo and Nana, but my mouth dropped open when Melo stabbed her dad. 😲 You are a phenomenal storyteller. 👏

  • Test11 months ago

    Bone chilling. Didn't see that coming. Loved the dialogue and how real their relationship seemed. Even the end seemed something possible even though it was so dark. Children can certainly become monsters.💙Anneliese

  • Andrew C McDonald12 months ago

    Wow. That was actually chilling. Fantastic work.

  • very good

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Why would your fans expect this to be a sweet story of a young spoilt kid. you make the most awesome monsters. Shudderrrrrrr! great delivery my child.

  • ALI HAMZAabout a year ago

    I like your work.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Your storytelling skills are impeccable, and the way you captured Meloetta's emotions was truly captivating. The way you explored the theme of jealousy was both relatable and thought-provoking. Your writing style flowed effortlessly, keeping me hooked from beginning to end. It's clear that you have a talent for creating suspenseful and atmospheric narratives. Thank you for sharing this fantastic piece with us. I can't wait to read more of your work! Keep shining and sharing your incredible stories with the world. You're a talented writer, and I'm grateful to have come across your work.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Once again, I’m loving your character names Dharrsheena. Meloetta is such a beautiful name for a child character. Once again, I did not seem that plot twist coming where she kills her father just to get a batch of grandma’s cookies! This was an incredible and bone chilling read!

  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    Dharrsheena (I love your name!) at first i had sympathy for that little monster. i thought she had a childish misunderstanding--i was not ready for that end! but it was brilliant!!!!

  • I liked it a lot Beautiful work!!!

  • Stephanie Downardabout a year ago

    Well, I didn't expect that! You always do so good with the twists at the end! I loved it! ❤️ Great job!! 😁

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    I nice short horror story, but I wished that there was a bit more of a drama written into the scene of Meloetta stabbing her dad in the neck. I get it, she's a sneaky kid, with sneaky intentions, but I wished that when the grandma realized what was going on, that the terror from the grandmother's perspective was made more palpable. I'm kind of reminded of a meme. "For You, it was the worst day of Your life. For me, it was Tuesday." Personally, for me, the vibe is a bit too mellow. Especially since they're on a plane. I want to read about the other passengers' reactions. They're fear in seeing a daughter stab her own father, people huddling over in the seats. Somebody panicking and freaking out as Meloetta's father's blood gushes and splashes on them as they're either sitting behind, besides, or in front of him. As the author, You have the power to slow down time and world build that one scene to be as graphically descriptive as possible. Like, even talk about the feeling of betrayal the father gets as he looks over and even puts a hand to his throat as he groggily wakes up in a panic, staring at his daughter, somebody whom he thought was so innocent and dependent upon him for protection, holding a bloody pen in her hand that she weaponized against him, and how he wonders where it all went wrong. It's a great horror story, but I feel that this could be even more visceral!

  • Alieu Turayabout a year ago

    Beautiful work!!!

  • Taha Khanabout a year ago

    Amazingg!!!! You have such a wonderful writing skills and srory telling, loved your work so much! ♥️♥️

  • Brittany Taylor about a year ago

    Wow that escalated quickly! love this

  • Your horror stories are always impressively horrific.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Magnificent storytelling Shee Shee! Congratulations!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.